The Story of Your Mother

From early days we are taught Bible scriptures.

Ones to memorize. And obey! Parents really like to pull out some favorites to use when training their children. Such as:

  • Ex 20:12 Honour thy father and thy mother: that thy days may be long upon the land which the LORD thy God giveth thee.
  • Eph 6:1-3 Children, obey your parents in the Lord: for this is right.  (2)  Honour thy father and mother; (e)  (3)  That it may be well with thee, and thou mayest live long on the earth.

Scriptures like these are well worth learning by every child, everywhere. In no other ancient set of guidelines are there commandments like this. They are the glue that holds together the fabric of our world.

Still, we have all arrived at this day with a variety of past experiences. Especially when it comes to our lineage. Some of us have good memories of our mom’s and dad’s. Others, not so good. Oft times the good gets mixed in with the bad and it’s tough to separate the two sides of the coin of real life.

Mother’s are the most committed in the traditional relationship.

They go through pain and suffering to bring you into the world. Their load is heavy with the raising of child to adulthood. Then, some day, they have to truly cut the cord and let that precious little one be the adult and make decisions on their own.

During the days leading up to the most recent Mother’s Day, I browsed through Facebook and saw the many tributes that friends of mine have posted about their mom’s. Some of their mom’s are people I remember as a youngster, while others have been gone for many long years and I never had the privilege of knowing them. I saw where a pastor’s parents were memorialized by one of the children – one who is slightly older than I, and I never had the opportunity to meet either one.. I read where a dear lady (my mom’s age) spoke about her mom and it seems like I remember seeing her many years ago. I read where a dear friend from my teenage years wrote about her mom and I remember her well – the writing brought her memory back to life for me. After Sunday service, one of the young ladies in our church posted a book about her mom and it made me appreciate the story line of this family all the more.

So, I ask the question: What is the story of your mother? When no one else will have a story as unique as yours, may you find the way and the words to tell the unique story of your mom. Speak of it often to your children and grandchildren. Let them know the good, and forget all the bad – this will make the story of mothers last for generations to come.

Consider these quotes from Abraham Lincoln about his mother. They make me want to know more about his growing up years.

  • “All that I am, or hope to be, I owe to my angel mother.”
  • “I remember my mother’s prayers and they have always followed me. They have clung to me all my life.”

Regardless of what your memories are, there is a scripture that gives us a guideline on who to memorialize our mothers.

  • “Her children arise up, and call her blessed.” –Proverbs 31:28

Let me share one story of my mom. I remember when she graduated from college. I would have been in Junior High and we went to the outdoor ceremony on the University of Houston campus. I do not remember much about that event, but it brings back memories of us getting to go with her and sit in the back of class; or of her bringing home dissecting kits from the bookstore for us to use in our own lab; or sitting around the living room floor while we had family time along with her homework assignments. I appreciate all my mom has done and what she means to me. She sparked my educational interests!

Finally, my wife has raised up two wonderful children. It is a wonder to see their love and respect for her. I believe they know the scriptures well and honor and bless her with their lives. Thanks guys.

Here’s the final thought. I am blessed with many examples of good parenting. If you have no good examples in your life, or your parents are no longer around, then find someone you can relate to and let them receive your honor. Show your children how to honor and then someday, maybe, you will be honored also!

2 thoughts on “The Story of Your Mother

  1. Enjoyed reading the article/serman? on Mothers. I appreciate the scriptures you used and they have been used in my life about my parents. The thread of continuity runs through the lives of families if they keep the good–obliterate the bad–and have honour and respect for one another.

    Like

  2. I enjoyed reading the comments/sermon about motheres. My mother showed such honor and respoect for her parents, that it seemed natural to do the same. She also quoted the scriptures to us. The continuity of love, honor and relationships in families brings blessings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

