Imagine a time…

I use all three...
I use all three…

Imagine a time…

A time before surgery solutions, dental repair, clothing factories… Imagine a time before vision correction!

I am blessed to need corrective lenses only for reading, and unless there is a laser solution that is permanent then I will need these lenses the rest of my life!

I only need them to read. My eye doctor (Dr. Rick Baxter) would love for me to consider bi-focal, or even tri-focal, but when I try I find I am constantly shifting my head to find the right focal location in the lenses. It becomes a dizzying process. Even the language of visual problems create a dizzying time with understanding near-sightedness or far-sightedness.

So, I keep many pairs of glasses hanging around for specific purposes.

For example, the pair on the bottom are my 150’s and I use them only while working on my computer in my office. My monitor is about 42 inches away. The middle pair are my daily 250’s and I use them for about everything else.

The bottom two are my throw down glasses! I get them for about $6 at Walmart or some other variety store – use them till they break and then I throw them down and get another pair. The big problem is that they are identical frames and if I mix them up then I have to determine which strength they are.

The top glasses are my prescribed lenses and associated frames.  Both of my eyes require a little different prescription than the other. These glasses are more expensive and require the most protection. I use them only when I want to travel, and I have to guard them closely against scratches.

There is a really good article about modern corrective vision issues. Click Here to go to Wikipedia and read the article.

The earliest written record of magnification dates back to the 1st century AD, when Seneca the Younger, a tutor of Emperor Nero of Rome, wrote: “Letters, however small and indistinct, are seen enlarged and more clearly through a globe or glass filled with water”. Nero (reigned 54–68 AD) is also said to have watched the gladiatorial games using an emerald as a corrective lens.

Imagine a time when you cannot see well enough to enjoy reading or looking at something you really care for. The Apostle Paul could have had vision issues:

Galatians 6:11  Ye see how large a letter I have written unto you with mine own hand.

This translation can indicate the size of each individual epistle, or the number of epistles, or even the size of each individual letter of the alphabet. This book only has 6 chapters and he has written many larger epistles than this one, and he has written numerous times, but I can only surmise that vision might be the reason for a “larger” letter.

Perhaps the day will come when science will give us better solutions to vision issues than corrective lenses or surgery.

I hope I am around to see it happen!

Leave a Reply

