O Beautiful, For Spacious Skies…

Mt Rainier as viewed about 1/4 mile from my home
Mt Rainier as viewed about 1/4 mile from my home

O Beautiful place we get to experience from time to time in our daily lives. Sometimes we travel great distances to those remote sites, but I suspect if you will look very closely you will find beautiful places near you.

Some of us find beauty in different scenes – some like the beach, or anything with water, or something white capped like this picture here.

Others like man-made structures, and there are plenty new and old sites to enjoy.  I’ve enjoyed some of these and will enjoy seeing many more before this life is over.

Over the years I have enjoyed the sites of the Pacific NW, and that includes western Canada and Alaska. I have seen the beauty of tall mountains, snow, glaciers, rivers – teeming with life or even looking as vacant as a desert scene.

Part of the scenery that I enjoy always seems to be connected to snow capped mountains. It may have something to do with my personal body temp, I enjoy cold so much more than heat – give me a winter vacation!

Crater Lake, Oregon
Crater Lake, Oregon

I mean, who in their right mind would go to Crater Lake, OR in the winter time when everything is closed.

We do!

The older I get, the more I want to travel. It has nothing to do with what we do not have here, or what we cannot enjoy around the USA, but there is so much to see!

It’s not just winter scenery, it’s also the wildlife. I have been around herds of wild animals, including elk and caribou, I have seen the grizzly bear stalking his prey on land and in the river. How about a family of black bear grazing through berry patches? Or a Lynx sitting by the road above the tree line in Anchorage? Moose bedding down in the back yard, a wolf trotting up near the neighborhood looking for a tasty morsel, packs of coyote yipping down by the sheep where the first picture was taken in this blog.

I would love to do an Africa Photo Safari!

Entrance to Petra
Entrance to Petra

Last year I was blessed with a trip to Israel and Jordan…  Thoroughly enjoyed the experience and hope to go again. Petra was beyond belief…

I have written and posted about this a lot…

We’ve been to Iceland, Canada, Mexico, Germany, England, Scotland – and I really want to go see the Bavarian Alps – and all those other Alps over there – along with the Great Wall, Antarctica,  etc… The list is nearly endless! I almost think I need some endowment fund that will give me some travel reasons!

Over the past few weeks I have taken pictures of all the blooms on our little homestead.

I Have No Clue!
I Have No Clue!

There are still a few more weeks where things will be in bloom, and many of the things on our property has no identity – at least in my vocabulary.  As everything opens out to the summer sun, I will enjoy documenting them this year!

This is part of the beauty of our world!

If you cannot go to where you think the beauty might be located, open your eyes to the beauty that is right before you!

As I was thinking about all the beauty we have around us, I automatically thought of the song “America The Beautiful”… It was a poem written by Katharine Lee Bates in 1893. A church organist, Samuel Ward, utilized some of his earlier music for this song and produced it in 1910…

I have never read all the words and put them here for you to consider…

America the Beautiful

Words by Katharine Lee Bates, Melody by Samuel Ward

O beautiful for spacious skies,
For amber waves of grain,
For purple mountain majesties
Above the fruited plain!
America! America!
God shed his grace on thee
And crown thy good with brotherhood
From sea to shining sea!

O beautiful for pilgrim feet
Whose stern impassioned stress
A thoroughfare of freedom beat
Across the wilderness!
America! America!
God mend thine every flaw,
Confirm thy soul in self-control,
Thy liberty in law!

O beautiful for heroes proved
In liberating strife.
Who more than self their country loved
And mercy more than life!
America! America!
May God thy gold refine
Till all success be nobleness
And every gain divine!

O beautiful for patriot dream
That sees beyond the years
Thine alabaster cities gleam
Undimmed by human tears!
America! America!
God shed his grace on thee
And crown thy good with brotherhood
From sea to shining sea!

O beautiful for halcyon skies,
For amber waves of grain,
For purple mountain majesties
Above the enameled plain!
America! America!
God shed his grace on thee
Till souls wax fair as earth and air
And music-hearted sea!

O beautiful for pilgrims feet,
Whose stem impassioned stress
A thoroughfare for freedom beat
Across the wilderness!
America! America!
God shed his grace on thee
Till paths be wrought through
wilds of thought
By pilgrim foot and knee!

O beautiful for glory-tale
Of liberating strife
When once and twice,
for man’s avail
Men lavished precious life!
America! America!
God shed his grace on thee
Till selfish gain no longer stain
The banner of the free!

O beautiful for patriot dream
That sees beyond the years
Thine alabaster cities gleam
Undimmed by human tears!
America! America!
God shed his grace on thee
Till nobler men keep once again
Thy whiter jubilee!

Leave a Reply

