Full Speed Ahead!

Full Speed Ahead
Full Speed Ahead

Tired of sitting. Tired of twiddling my thumbs. Tired of day dreaming. Tired of the same ol’, same ol’…

Almost… It’s almost like the kid in school ready to skedaddle out of the classroom for summer vacation.

No more school  No more books  No more teachers dirty looks!

Except for the idea that the student and teacher both end up in the classroom again in a couple of months – this is how I feel.

Time for a change!

For me this mostly means getting into a full gallop for the things I need to get done. Quit procrastinating. Lay out a plan. Set priorities. Get into gear. Charge!

We often find ourselves at different stages of life at different times when we least expect it. Here I am getting close to 60 and I’m pursuing my doctorate. With the economy like it is many must keep working in order to be prepared for retirement. Life expectancies have not changed very much but if we expect to have some adequate finances in the next 30 years that means we have to keep socking it away for those years when there is no new income – just the same ol’ retirement dollars that we are focusing on today.

Hence, my focus on getting another degree – I can teach into retirement!

Several younger friends of mine are also focusing on their doctorate – only they will have longer years of gainful use of the degree to afford branded schools and perhaps better education experiences, and the income to cost justify the higher costs. Not me. I am self funded and my income potential now and tomorrow means I have to focus my expenditures in a more controlled environment.

Hmmm… I wonder if some crowdfunding opportunities would give me some extra funds for a higher branded school?

Regardless, it is often deflating when you compare yourself to others. This is easy to do, but your personality might not be able to handle the comparison! Their perfect world – and you, who are closer to reality in your own personal world can feel like a lost needle in the proverbial haystack. They will get all the breaks and you will have to work hard to get noticed by anyone!

Comparing yourself is often self defeating. Circumstances often dictate your position, and if you consider another persons position then the only real “fix” would be to change your circumstances. You may, or may not, have the power to do such a thing.

The apostle Paul, the most prolific author and the consummate mission minded disciple, gives me an insiders glance on a better way of thinking about where I am in my life.

Php 4:11-13 (MSG) Actually, I don’t have a sense of needing anything personally. I’ve learned by now to be quite content whatever my circumstances.  (12)  I’m just as happy with little as with much, with much as with little. I’ve found the recipe for being happy whether full or hungry, hands full or hands empty.  (13)  Whatever I have, wherever I am, I can make it through anything in the One who makes me who I am.

Now, I am not content with my circumstances because I constantly want to be a better “me” – but circumstances often define our boundaries of potential improvement.

Consider my thought process this morning.

I may not be able to afford a better school, so, contentment should dictate that at whatever school I can afford – be the best!

And that is something I am good at!

Leave a Reply

