I Wonder

I Wonder…

Yesterday, early in the morning, I was sitting in my office and the blinds were open. In these early morning hours I enjoy the window being open to the coolness of the outside, and the opening moments of the day as the birds begin to stir.

A quick motion in the periphery made my eyes move to the window from my computer screen – and much to my surprise, one of our feeding hummingbirds was hoovering just outside and peering in.

Quickly, I wondered, “What is he looking for?” and then I thought, “I wonder what he thinks about what he sees?”

Wonder. That amazingly and unique word that opens up our curiosity to the world around us. Those interesting thoughts that our mind conjures and the pathways of thinking we wander through. Almost like Alice in Wonderland we sometimes do not think about what we are doing, and simply do – and often pay dearly for the consequences of our actions!

The Bing Dictionary says it is:

  1. amazed admiration: amazed admiration or awe, especially at something very beautiful or new
  2. something marvelous: a miracle or other cause of intense admiration or awe
  3. extraordinarily good: exciting admiration or amazement by virtue of being outstandingly good, effective, or unusual

So, I click on another site and look for an image of the word… Perhaps something I can use for this blog post. What do I find?

  • Wonder Woman
  • Stevie Wonder
  • and some new book called Wonder….

We sang a song at the Man-Up conference in Renton yesterday, and a phrase struck me as I thought about the future.

“I can only imagine…”

True, I wonder about many things, some great mysteries exist as near as my next thought, and some as far away as retirement!

  • When I pass a road I have never been down, I wonder where it leads…
  • When some new gadget arrives on the scene, I wonder if I will ever need that? (That’s what I thought when the first home computing devices of the 70’s first showed up…)
  • When I imagine swinging a bat, I wonder, “What would it be like to hit a home run?!!” or to even make a hole in one on the golf course!

Yet, too much “wonder” can produce some negative results.

For example, I do not wonder about drugs, and even though Marijuana has been legalized where I live, I have no consideration that it will ever be tested by me! I am a child of the 60’s and 70’s when too many played around with drugs too easily – and I see the results these later years and know that the dangers are real.

Nor do I wonder about other religious experiences, or what other churches are like so that I have to go and experiment. Nor do I wonder what a new car would be like, because that’s one wonderment that costs money!

A long time ago I quit wondering if I am truly that man staring back at me in the mirror each morning!

I am pretty secure in knowing the limits of my wonder – but many folks are open to every wondering thought that comes along and they try things even when they know it has harmful effects.

Have you ever R-E-A-D those warnings on all the pharmaceuticals you are prescribed?

Keep your wonderment under control… and do not let it go to far afield!

 

Leave a Reply

