Early Morning Stillness

The Power of Nature

2014-06-26 09.43.29It’s amazing the power of the natural world around.

I have shared many times how much I truly loved wild weather. Rain, snow, sleet, wind, lightening, thunder.

I have lived through hurricanes, skirted around the might of tornadoes, felt the earth tremble as quakes rattle the ground. The power of an avalanche pushing tons of ice and snow down a mountain slope can destroy everything in front of it, and the leading edge of the air mass can exceed the speed of most cars. Or even a 30 foot tide pushing chunks of ice as easily as a child pushing rubber ducks around in the bathtub.

Regardless of the might of all we experience, there is something easily enjoyed after the storm passes by.

Stillness.

No might of nature can be more enjoyed than that quiet and still moment that comes after the storm. Have you ever simply stood in the midst of the quiet that follows the storm and enjoyed the peace that comes from surviving?

The promise of rain throughout the night, well, it never arrived. Standing outside I felt the stillness of the morning and it almost felt like that quiet that comes before, and even after, a storm.

My pastor and friend from the late 80’s and early 90’s sang a song that I listen to and even enjoy today. Brett Jones has a wonderful singing voice. Just writing these words I can hear his voice in my mind – singing:

In the dark of the midnight have I oft hid my face,
While the storm howls above me, and there’s no hiding place.
‘Mid the crash of the thunder, Precious Lord, hear my cry,
Keep me safe till the storm passes by.
Till the storm passes over, till the thunder sounds no more,
Till the clouds roll forever from the sky;
Hold me fast, let me stand in the hollow of Thy hand,
Keep me safe till the storm passes by.

 Yet, there is still another thought about the stillness.

Moses tells Israel to “…stand still and see the salvation of the Lord…” Sometimes, the most appropriate thing to do is simply stop, and stand still, and allow God to handle the storm you  are dealing with. This goes against much of our nature. We want to handle it all by ourselves! As if we think we are capable!

You cannot imagine the the storms that were produced to allow the writer of this song to pen these words. You need to read this yourself! (Click Here)

When peace, like a river, attendeth my way, when sorrows like sea billows roll; 

whatever my lot, thou hast taught me to say, It is well, it is well with my soul.

Refrain: It is well with my soul, it is well, it is well with my soul.

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come, let this blest assurance control,

that Christ has regarded my helpless estate, and hath shed his own blood for my soul. 

Refrain: It is well with my soul, it is well, it is well with my soul.

My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought! My sin, not in part but the whole, is nailed to the cross,

and I bear it no more, praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

Refrain: It is well with my soul, it is well, it is well with my soul.

And, Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight, the clouds be rolled back as a scroll;

the trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend, even so, it is well with my soul.

Refrain: It is well with my soul, it is well, it is well with my soul.

 

Consider that storms of life will always arise, even when we are least able to handle them…

Seek for the stillness. It’s there… Even in the midst of your storm!

 
Leave a Reply

