Time Waits For No Man

It has been 30…

No, Probably closer to 35. It’s been nearly 35 years since I have worn a watch. 2014-07-06 07.04.29For a multitude of reasons, the main reason is that I do not like stuff on my wrists or fingers!

In fact, I am generally suspicious of men who have multiple rings and wrist accouterments.

Ladies, on one hand, seem to enjoy dangling artifacts hanging from their ears, necks and hands. And other than Mister T, they seem to think the more the merrier.

I look at it and think, “Why on earth do you ….” and then fill in the blank for what it is they are doing!

It was nearly 40 years ago that my wedding band got caught in a printer door and nearly yanked my finger off -or so it seemed. That’s when I started developing a diversion to “stuff”. My ring was bent so bad I nearly did not get it off.

Not long after that the watch hit the drawer and stayed there.

How do you tell time when you have no watch? Well, I look at the sun in relative position to the earth, and reach into my shirt pocket and pull out my phone! The phone has become my time piece.

I hate to be late. If I am at church 10 minutes before start time, then I am late. In fact, for most church services I am there an hour before and an hour after. It’s been my habit for too long to change now!

Yesterday, while headed for the tram station at Northwest Trek, we paused for a minute to get refreshments. All the while I am looking at my phone to see how close we are to boarding time, looking at the line and seeing it get lengthier, and wondering, “What kind of seats will be left?”

Maybe that’s why the aversion to tardiness? Looking for the best seats in the house, the perfect parking spot in the shade, the ability to not feel rushed!

Time will keep moving around the dial, the earth continues it’s punctual and predictable spin, time waits for none of us!

The Apostle Paul penned this sentiment:

Rom 13:11-12 KJV And that, knowing the time, that now it is high time to awake out of sleep: for now is our salvation nearer than when we believed. (12) The night is far spent, the day is at hand: let us therefore cast off the works of darkness, and let us put on the armour of light.

Time is rapidly approaching some momentous event… Take it for the Spiritual meaning and you will want to consider your personal well being and make sure you are ready for that day!

Leave a Reply

