Freshness of Morning

I woke slowly this morning…

And this is normally not the case. Seldom do I take my time getting out of bed. For some reason, I slept a few minutes later than normal and then actually enjoyed the thought of this new day.

Over the past few weeks it seems like the night has made me more tired than I should be. It is often like carrying a burden for something, or someone, and then it is lifted.Bag of Rocks

I remember a story in a reader. Junior High I think. It was about a boy who wanted to run fast at the track. This was probably during the same time I wanted those running shoes I mentioned a few days ago. This boy had tried everything, and nothing worked. He simply could not get up his speed. Someone, his dad, or coach, made him start to run with his satchel full of rocks. As heavy as he could bear. It did not make sense – he only ran slower. “Keep it up!” So, he practiced with this bag of rocks. The day of a track meet arrived and for the first time he was told to leave the satchel behind.

“Ready. Set. Go.” The starters pistol was fired! Off he ran, only, he was running faster than ever. His feet literally flew around the track and he beat his own time.

I do not remember the story as to whether he won the race. Still, it made an impact on me and I thought about it this morning… Nearly 50 years later!

I think of the Preacher in the Old Testament…

Again I saw that under the sun the race is not to the swift, nor the battle to the strong, nor bread to the wise, nor riches to the intelligent, nor favor to those with knowledge, but time and chance happen to them all.  (Ecclesiastes 9:11 ESV)

While it is true that the race of life is not to the swift runner, it is also true there comes a moment when the satchel of rocks is left behind that we enjoy the moment of fleetness! Our burden is not carried. Faster than ever do we enjoy the next moments of life! The lifted load, what a sweet relief.

There is something about a Wednesday night bible study that is more impactful for me the preacher, and I hope it is also true for my congregation. This morning I thought about the burdens that I leave behind every Wednesday night after teaching a bible study to my congregation. It is something I carry, and if I do my job of delivery, then it is something I am able to drop off. The next morning is like a load lifted.

This morning, I feel like soaring!

My soul continually remembers it and is bowed down within me. But this I call to mind, and therefore I have hope: The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.  (Lamentations 3:20-23 ESV)

I wonder… What load do you need to drop off like that bag of rocks? Why don’t you set it down and enjoy the morning for a change!

Leave a Reply

