Quality vs Quantity

We have many ways to gauge the world around us…

1908 Model T Speedometer
1908 Model T Speedometer

Speed, size, duration, quantity and quality… to name a few. We look at various matrices to determine if what we are gauging is the most, or the best for us. As the ability of this world continues to grow, the matrix of size continues to change. For example, we used to think that our automobiles will last only so many miles, but with my Dodge truck I am proving that I can own it for years and miles and still enjoy having a quality ride. It just topped 267,000 miles and it’s 11 years old this month.

Quality and Quantity!

I remember PC’s back in the day when all you had were floppy disk drives. 5 1/4, SS, SD… (Of course, there were days when the data drive was simply a cassette tape.) A major notation for determining how much data you could store – they were 5 1/4 inches in size, Single Sided, Single Density. Then they went to Double Sided, Double Density… Then 10 megabyte hard drives, and the growth list has been phenomenal on quantity of what we can store, and the quality on the storage results. Diskettes, hard drives and all other digital storage devices can have problems and quit – quite unexpectedly at times!

Of course, PC’s are always in need of upgrades. Technology changes quicker than we can shake a stick at. Operating systems are no longer supported, hence upgrades are needed to protect our valuable experience. My 10 year old desktop has reached it’s maximum life, and my 6 year old laptop is ready for less than a busy work schedule than my life requires.

There is a view of PC’s – buy low, use them up, throw them away versus buy best, last longest, reuse for lesser tasks.

When you are young you often aim high, trying to reach the highest number possible – merit badges, collections, home runs, speed- and the list is lengthy.

There was a day when my brother wondered if his car speedometer, which topped out at 140 mph or so , was an accurate measurement of how fast the car would go. Stories are told… But I am sure it went much faster than the measured gauge!

 The older I get, the more focused I am on quality – time, health, finances and this list is just about as lengthy as the quantity list.

The measurements of our gauge have changed, but the proud display of accomplishments seem to always be with us. We often show off what we can, with what we have.

The flip side of measuring is often changing the way a sentence or sentiment is used to put the concept into a different perspective.

It’s not how many breaths you take, but what takes your breath away.

This is a more modern way of, “It’s not how many times you get knocked down, it’s all about how many times you get back up” or “It’s not how many dollars you make, but what you do with your dollars.”

Get the drift? It really is about how we gauge our world around us. It is about our perspective. In my estimation, those that are richest are those blessed with generosity, patience, kindness, consideration and a host of other similar concepts. If it was all about getting to the top of the heap then there are many losers lost under the weight of and struggle of those scrambling few.

Consider the wealthy… Of course, we throw a few names at the top of the heap. I would much rather consider what they are doing with their wealth, more than considering how much they have. We hear of a few who are attempting to spread their wealth around – but they keep making even more than they spend.

Jesus tells a parable of a rich man who’s attitude of his wealth was to “… ‘I will do this: I will tear down my barns and build larger ones, and there I will store all my grain and my goods. And I will say to my soul, Soul, you have ample goods laid up for many years; relax, eat, drink, be merry.'” (Luke 12:18-19, ESV)  The answer from God is?

“Just then God showed up and said, ‘Fool! Tonight you die. And your barnful of goods–who gets it?’ “That’s what happens when you fill your barn with Self and not with God.”  (Luke 12:20-21 MSG)

Perhaps the gauge is what we do with what we are blessed with, rather than storing it until life is used up and the scrabble begins on “who” gets “what”… Over the past few years, my parents have slowing been giving out some of their treasures to those who will enjoy them the most. What a thoughtful thing to do! Maybe I’ll just start handing out all my junk drawers and storage closets to my kids!

Yep… That’s what I’ll do!

Yesterday we had a quality church service, even with a quantity of our folks missing. This makes me think Quality out weighs Quantity all the time!

 

Leave a Reply

