Seasons of Webs

From my iPhone I post.

IMG_4432Slowly tapping the keys. One finger. One letter. Glancing at the screen I verify words, spelling, punctuation and a host of other error producing miss-keys.

Walking the dogs in the early morning light I could see spider webs glistening everywhere. I know they were not there yesterday, I walked in their coverage zone.

So, they must have worked all night.

A radio ad says this is the season of spiders. Perhaps. While I understand their actions, I also am watchful of the tendrils of their web. You walk through one. Immediately you start swinging your hands making sure they don’t stick. Rubbing them off. Watching for that spider that might be in your hair. There! On your arm.

Well. I could paint the picture better. Except, it’s one finger, one letter, slowly typing out these words. More like the effort that spider does to weave every tendril into perfect geometrical shape.

Beautiful!

More later when we settle down to a routine stop!

So, I get my computer running normally and we are settle in at a stopping point for a few days. Let me continue…

Spiders do a great service for our lives. Sure, they look creepy and we are often fearful of their potential venom, but the world would be substantially different if we were to clear out one of these important bugs.

I watched a spider run out from a hidden leaf. Why did he hide? Birds like to eat them! Anyway, he ran to the part of the web where a flying bug had slammed into the thinly stretched tendrils. In some species, spiders simply inject some kind of venom and leave the bug to die. Others immediately begin to spool a web around the captured bug – a source of food for the babies that will eventually hatch with a voracious appetite.

A neighbor of mine, about 30 years ago, was bit by a Brown Recluse… Ugly wound and a long time of recovery, I am not sure if her finger ever recovered. 

Spider WebThis particular morning, a single web caught my attention.

A single strand sprung upwards at about a 70 degree arch from one of my fence posts. It disappeared into the morning sun but if you looked closely you could see it. About 20 feet up the tree, somehow, this spider had spun a thread and then either the wind or chance allowed him to anchor to the top of the post.

There was nothing else.

Maybe he did not survive. Maybe he had just gotten started and it was still a few hours away from him making multiple threaded attempts at casting a large web.

I do not know. Only, I know that there spiders everywhere I look… Along with the barn swallows that fly like crazy around my property looking for flying bugs, the spiders are doing their job – one bug at a time!

To which I say, “Go, Spiders, Go!”

There are more thoughts about spiders just waiting to be shared… Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

