Sunrise… Sunset..

Swiftly Flow The Years!

Sunrise - Steamboat Springs 2014
Sunrise – Steamboat Springs 2014

I recently took an informal poll on Facebook about what people like best. Sunrise. Sunset. With no preconceived notions of answers, the thought came to me that I might be different than many others.  Also, I was curious if there was a trend.

It was pretty much evenly split. And for varied reasons. There were a few that liked both equally, and some like the thought of closing out the day with a beautiful image, while others saw the potential for the day as it unfolds.

Me, I’m a morning person. Seldom have I ever been able to sleep late, and mostly am content with getting up while it is still dark and enjoying that morning blush of a new day.

What rigor of life sets you on the path of being a person of the morning or evening? I wish I knew!

True, a career path that has set daytime hours often puts you on the path of getting up early to start the work day. I remember getting up around 4:30, walking outside to enjoy the closing ours of night, and hoping my newspaper was already delivered!

I quit taking the paper when it could not get to me early enough to greet the day.

My granddad was a true morning person. It probably had much to do with his hard working life and enjoyment of fishing. I think. As long as I knew him he was retired, having taken that step just months before my birth.  Yet, I never saw him as anything but a hard working person. He was always working on something, and fishing. Running cows, and fishing. Building and rebuilding houses, and fishing. I came to believe that fishing was simply hard work!

I simply remember him getting up around 4am, making some coffee and making burnt toast (on purpose…), and then walking for several hours as the opened up. Back to the house around 7:30 and grandmother would make him a regular breakfast, and then he would be gone and busy.

Since I am not a long sleeper, so I guess I am some sort of a hybrid – a little bit of day, a little bit of night, and a few hours of sleep.

I do remember a time of college and work. Night shifts in the computer room. Day shifts sitting in classrooms. 4-6 hours of sleep, and then repeat the cycle.

What does it matter? There are too many years and adages and sages talking about the important of early morning hours being the most productive. You know, it’s the early bird that gets the worm!

Sunset - Steamboat Springs 2014
Sunset – Steamboat Springs 2014

Jesus said to work while it is day, for the night will come when no man can work. (John 9:4) The night he was speaking of was symbolic of death. Death of sleep, or death of eternity, there is coming a time when we will not be able to do the work we are called to do.

I’ve been awake off and on since about 3:30. My mind begins to churn with unfinished tasks, and yet, I am on vacation. It’s Sunday. My church is meeting in a few hours and I pray for them today. We are driving about 400 miles to our next stop today, and I pray for a safe journey. My kids will all be waking soon and starting their routine, I pray for them. My dad has not been doing well, I pray for my family.

Well, I guess you can work in the night… Maybe a power nap before the sun rises…

But when the day arrives in all of it’s glory, I want to see that sun peeking over the hill and around the clouds!

 

 

Leave a Reply

