The Older I Get

The More I Comprehend Human Nature…

Mistakes…the more I am surprised at the true spirit of humanity. The bulk of human nature I see is negative.  I speak of this because the bulk of what I am talking about is what I see within myself.

Go figure!

On one hand there is a mean streak within that wants to pound on things, and on the other hand I have better tools and experiences to handle the negativity.

Most if it is dependent on how I use my skills at the moment it is needed. Will I be successful, or not?

Again, it’s my perspective at the moment. Left. Right. Up. Down. Frontward. Backward. Which way do I go?

A long time ago I learned my personality quirks and realize how much I have to work at keeping my flesh under control and subjection. There is no one that I can truly talk this out with, but every so often it rises to the surface and I have to work hard to control my reaction. By myself.

The Apostle Paul writes his important theological position to the Romans, and to most theologians it is the premier message to the church. He writes on a very important topic when he discusses what is happening on the inside.

For we know that the law is spiritual, but I am of the flesh, sold under sin. For I do not understand my own actions. For I do not do what I want, but I do the very thing I hate. Now if I do what I do not want, I agree with the law, that it is good. So now it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me. For I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh. For I have the desire to do what is right, but not the ability to carry it out. For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I keep on doing. Now if I do what I do not want, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me. So I find it to be a law that when I want to do right, evil lies close at hand.  (Romans 7:14-21 ESV)

Sin dwells within. A damning condemnation to a person who wants to live the right way, and makes wrong choices, or even continually makes wrong choices.

One of the things I have learned to do, when the choices are becoming tough to be made – I find it is best to go silent, control that monster inside by not opening my mouth.  Jesus gives me a hint that this is what works for me.

How can you say to your brother, ‘Brother, let me take out the speck that is in your eye,’ when you yourself do not see the log that is in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take out the speck that is in your brother’s eye. “For no good tree bears bad fruit, nor again does a bad tree bear good fruit, for each tree is known by its own fruit. For figs are not gathered from thornbushes, nor are grapes picked from a bramble bush. The good person out of the good treasure of his heart produces good, and the evil person out of his evil treasure produces evil, for out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks. (Luke 6:42-45 ESV)

Well, Shut My Mouth!

 

Leave a Reply

