Fears, Faults and Failures

I wonder if a bug ever feels it?

EdisonThat burst of adrenalin when something produces fear, that moment of comprehension that you are the one at fault and not someone else. I wonder if a bug has ever felt the feeling of failure.

I don’t think so! If they don’t, then why do we?

Often our worst day of these three things is found when we are feeling less than a champion. Perhaps we got up on the wrong side of the bed, someone made a discordant response to something we said, or even something as simple as the cloud covered and rain drenched day drags you down to a lowest point…

  • Yes. I have felt fear in the middle of the night when a dream causes me to wake in a pool of sweat.
  • Yes. There are many times I have felt the badge of being a fault grace my mind.
  • Yes. There are too many failures in my life to think that I’m always a winner.

What do we do when these feelings crowd in? Even if they are not true, we still have the feelings. How do we deal with them?

I do not have pat answers to everything, and I am no Zig Ziglar with a famous one-liner quote to make you see the situation in a different light. But what I do have is this indomitable spirit that makes me get back up and get started again!

A bad grade only makes me want to work harder. A snide remark makes me analyze whether the intent behind the comment has any factual bearing or not. A missed deadline only makes me gain tighter control of making sure I never have that feeling of failure again. 

I love the tenacity of spirit behind this quote of  Edison, “I haven’t failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.”

Yet, there are times you can still fail after all the attempts of trying to do what’s right.

Consider Pontius Pilate. Jesus is brought to him at the start of the Passover. Those that could accuse him were following their Passover traditions and could not enter the Judgement Hall.  One. Two, Three and even Four times he tried to turn Jesus back over to the crowd, and then the High Priest. Three times he says, “I find no fault” as he washed his hands of the matter. He gave into public pressure to conform to their outcry. When the cry of the crowd accused Jesus of calling himself the Son of God, Pilate grew afraid The one thing that Romans feared most was the wrath of the gods. Still, the noise of the crowd finally drowned out his dismissal of the criminal, and Jesus is led away to be crucified.

In abject shame, Jesus is led away to his death – but we know this death is actually our victory!

In rejection to his feeling of failure;

Pilate also wrote an inscription and put it on the cross. It read, “Jesus of Nazareth, the King of the Jews.” Many of the Jews read this inscription, for the place where Jesus was crucified was near the city, and it was written in Aramaic, in Latin, and in Greek. So the chief priests of the Jews said to Pilate, “Do not write, ‘The King of the Jews,’ but rather, ‘This man said, I am King of the Jews.'” Pilate answered, “What I have written I have written.”  (John 19:19-22 ESV)

He was attempting to cover himself!

So when Pilate saw that he was gaining nothing, but rather that a riot was beginning, he took water and washed his hands before the crowd, saying, “I am innocent of this man’s blood; see to it yourselves.” And all the people answered, “His blood be on us and on our children!”  (Matthew 27:24-25 ESV)

Oh, the things we do to mask our guilt and to hide our shame.

Yet, take this feeling and consider the power of the moment.

“Everything you want is on the other side of fear.”  ~Jack Canfield

Most times you have to persevere through fears, failures and faults – because success if often waiting on the other side.

 
Leave a Reply

