Home Always Beckons

We’ve heard the old sayings…

Heading Home
Heading Home

Home is where the heart is.

It was Thornton Wilder who said,

“When you’re safe at home you wish you were having an adventure; when you’re having an adventure you wish you were safe at home.”

Adventures are often sought, and, we wish to enjoy the adventures of others. Perhaps it’s partly jealousy. We look at what’s happening in our own lives, and see others doing something different, and perhaps enjoyable. And we wish for their adventure to be ours.

Yet, time and again, while enjoying an adventure – we look to home and wish for the creature comforts we take for granted every single day.

I have found this to be so true.

Miles from home, you think about what you’re missing.

Safe in the comfort of your routine, you think about what you’re missing.

Through the years I watch others enjoy their trips and wish I was on that trip. Finally, I go on a trip and wish  for the moments back home!

This recent trip?

Last Friday, 10/24, left home at 4pm. Flew out of SeaTac on red-eye flight to Charolett, NC. Short hop to Atlanta, GA. Loaded a Budget Rental truck and headed home after 5 hours on the ground. NC, GA, TN, KY, IL, MO, NE, WY, UT, ID, OR, WA – Nearly 3,000 road miles, 3,000 air miles,, 12 states, 4 days of driving hard, 3 hotels, and way too much fast food.

There was no time for site seeing, or even visiting the family and friends that surrounded us. It was all about work and getting a relocation task done. The rental truck was uncomfortable, cramped, and with no leg room. The weather extreme (for me) from the high 70’s, and to the comfortable teens. Sea level, 33,00 feet in the air, and over a 1.6 miles high while on the ground. None of the coffee was sufficient. None of the rest and sleep was complete. We lived on the strengths of the past, and the hope of the future.

I am thinking I need a leisurely trip to unwind from the fast paced trip!

Yet, in the midst of all of this I think about where home is for so many people. Around me, people wish for life to be back where they feel the most comfortable. They gripe about where they are today,, and wish for life back as it were perhaps when they were happier. It’s not that life is bad in the here and now, it’s just that they live on fond memories of favored times of the past.

These past few days of traveling showed me many beautiful spots of this country. Yet, when we look with longing through our natural eyes, we fail to understand about the spiritual needs in these beautiful places. And I ask, should this be more about reaching others regardless of where we are?

What I yearn for is as full of problems as where I exist today.  There is no perfect place, and there is no place I can be happier if I do not learn to be happy now.

As I research my past posts, I find this is a common theme. You may be interested in this one particular post… Click here.

Please, let me know what you think… I would appreciate your input…

Blessings!

 

2 thoughts on “Home Always Beckons

  1. Mike:

    This is a very poignant posting. In many different religions, practices etc. a common theme is “be happy where you are now”. It is so true.

    Like

Leave a Reply

