From Stale to Fresh

It is so easy to let our lives grow stale…

Anointing OilWhether it’s our marriage, managing our finances, or having a close relationship with our children. Or even siblings.

This past Saturday I touched based with my siblings and parents. Just because. No reason. Just wanted to, perhaps, just needed to.

Just as easily we can abuse the same relationships by over using and abusing the connections.

There is a balance between too little, and too much. When your anointing of God shows that it is wearing thin, then you know that you have a great opportunity of having a low priority of God. The obverse is never true – you can never have too much of God!

Anointing oil was not simply the oil from an olive tree. It contained spices mixed into oil. It was specially mixed with special purposes.

The LORD said to Moses, “Take the finest spices: of liquid myrrh 500 shekels, and of sweet-smelling cinnamon half as much, that is, 250, and 250 of aromatic cane, and 500 of cassia, according to the shekel of the sanctuary, and a hin of olive oil. And you shall make of these a sacred anointing oil blended as by the perfumer; it shall be a holy anointing oil. With it you shall anoint the tent of meeting and the ark of the testimony, and the table and all its utensils, and the lampstand and its utensils, and the altar of incense, and the altar of burnt offering with all its utensils and the basin and its stand. You shall consecrate them, that they may be most holy. Whatever touches them will become holy.  (Exodus 30:22-29 ESV)

Whatever it touched became holy. The things it touched were to be used in the service to God. Yet, it was not used only for “things” around the tabernacle, it was also to sanctify the person.

Then Moses took the anointing oil and anointed the tabernacle and all that was in it, and consecrated them. And he sprinkled some of it on the altar seven times, and anointed the altar and all its utensils and the basin and its stand, to consecrate them. And he poured some of the anointing oil on Aaron’s head and anointed him to consecrate him. (Leviticus 8:10-12 ESV)

We often look at the use of anointing oil as being simply used, maybe a single drop. Yet, we find it often used in what we call excess. Poured over the head, running down the beard, and onto the clothes. It was not to be used sparingly. Use it up. Use it all. Then refill.

Just like the alabaster box of anointing that the woman poured onto Jesus. Use it up. Use it all. Then refill.

Once used up we need to restore the source of oil. We need fresh anointing. Not like an occasional re-connection with family. Rather, a frequent refreshing of God’s Spirit! If we do it correctly, then we use up our storehouse and need to replenish.

However, if I stay connected to the same ol’ sources, I will produce the same ol’ results. I need to connect with a fresh stream of anointing every day…

Though I believe we access through our daily bread of renewal (Luke 11:3), I know beyond a doubt that we have refreshing when we enter into Worship, whether corporate or individual. Worship is refreshing!

“But thou art holy, O thou that inhabitest the praises of Israel.” (Psalms 22:3 KJV)

In Psalms 92, the opening salvo from David is that this psalm is to be used at the beginning of every Sabbath. Start the day off with this psalm. Let it be what you start that holiest of days with. Worship to the King!

What is the Sabbath? It’s that day of rest that God took after the six days of creation. It’s the day that Israel kept extra holy so as to honor and revere God. No work. No trips. No cooking. Just entrance into the presence of God.

How did David describe it?

A Psalm. A Song for the Sabbath. It is good to give thanks to the LORD, to sing praises to your name, O Most High; to declare your steadfast love in the morning, and your faithfulness by night, to the music of the lute and the harp, to the melody of the lyre. For you, O LORD, have made me glad by your work; at the works of your hands I sing for joy. How great are your works, O LORD! Your thoughts are very deep! The stupid man cannot know; the fool cannot understand this: that though the wicked sprout like grass and all evildoers flourish, they are doomed to destruction forever; but you, O LORD, are on high forever. For behold, your enemies, O LORD, for behold, your enemies shall perish; all evildoers shall be scattered. But you have exalted my horn like that of the wild ox; you have poured over me fresh oil. My eyes have seen the downfall of my enemies; my ears have heard the doom of my evil assailants. The righteous flourish like the palm tree and grow like a cedar in Lebanon. They are planted in the house of the LORD; they flourish in the courts of our God. They still bear fruit in old age; they are ever full of sap and green, to declare that the LORD is upright; he is my rock, and there is no unrighteousness in him. (Psalms 92:1-15 ESV)

Oh, to start a time of worship to the King! Oh, for a time of refreshing! Oh, for a fresh anointing.

Anointing fall on me
Anointing fall on me
Let the power
Of the Holy Ghost
Fall on me
Anointing fall on me

Touch my hands my mouth
And my heart
Fill my life Lord
Every part
Let the power
Of the Holy Ghost
Fall on me
Anointing fall on me

On me let the power
Of the Holy Ghost
Fall on me
Anointing fall on me
Anointing fall on me
~Ron Kenoly

Leave a Reply

