Saturday

When I was young, it was a favored day…

Saturday

Chicago sang a song I enjoyed back in the day:

Saturday in the park
I think it was the Fourth of July
Saturday in the park
I think it was the Fourth of July
People dancing, people laughing
A man selling ice cream, singing Italian songs
“Eh Cumpari, ci vo sunari”
Can you dig it (yes, I can)
And I’ve been waiting such a long time
For Saturday

Growing up, Saturday mornings belonged to us kids – until about 9 a.m. Then we gathered into the part of the world where mom and dad had chores for us to do – and we worked for a few hours. Raking, moving plants that we had moved the week before, washing screens and windows, beating rugs…

Man, it seemed like we were just about labored to death!

Yet, if we woke up early enough then we could ride with dad through Champion Paper Company employee park where we lived. from 1960-65. As dad did his myriad of duties, we would enjoy just being away from the house. When he cleaned the pool, and if the day approved an early morning swim, then we would jump in and kick around in that morning cold water. Maybe we would dive deep and clean up leaves blown in, or a toy left in from the day before. Maybe we would race back and forth seeing who would would win a lap. Too often it was just me… And I was okay with that!

Later in life, Saturday often represented time to do what my wife and I wanted to do. Except, and there were many exceptions, and many years I worked odd hours in the IT world and nights and days blended together. It was often tough to separate one day from another.

Today is Saturday. I have spent the past four weeks on the go. I am in a hotel wrapping up school work before I drive to my weekend destination. Get me through this weekend and I’ll be able to settle down for the remainder of the year on a normal schedule. Except, school keeps me busy at all the other odd hours.

Saturday was for family. Sunday was for God. I seldom remember a time that we skipped church for family time.  Additionally, I seldom remember Saturday commitments to church activities. Maybe a quarterly Fellowship Meeting, or a church planned event if the holidays fell just right. Otherwise, Saturday was reserved for family. I still believe this and do not like to over schedule Saturday with Church activities. You have worked hard all week, and Sunday can be a very full day of church and family… So…

My advice, get your Saturday fun time in and keep your schedule dedicated to God on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

