Number Sequencing

Although pure math has been a mystery most of my life.

Math 01There is something about number sequences that I have enjoyed. Patterns. It may be part of the reason I’ve enjoyed coding computers, because so much of it is about pattern, logic and reasoning.

Of which I can only say, I often have a good sense about.

Logic, that is. Patterns…

Consider the Fibonacci numbering sequence:

0, 1, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 13, 21, 34, 55, 89, 144, …

 Immediately I see the pattern!

But put it into a formula like this and all of a sudden I am swinging my arms like that robot in “Lost in Space” speaking loudly, “Danger, Will Robinson!”

Math 03

Through the years I have trained myself to not be fearful of formulas, and even use them in simple every day processes, like computing the differences between miles to a destination versus kilometers to a destination.

It’s sort of simple: M * .6 = K  

This is a rough estimation but it gets me into the ballpark. I can even look at my speedometer gauge on my truck, or your car for that matter, and use it as my calculator to get to the result.

I wrote yesterday about Stewardship, and the life behind making proper decisions. Some acquire the knowledge through the ether, and others need much teaching and practical application before it makes sense.

That’s how I am with most algebraic math computations!

Take another look at the opening picture in this blog. Someone posted it on Facebook yesterday, and quickly the pattern revealed itself to me. Only, I don’t like to repost these things because it normally means someone is trying to get a head count of how far their influence might be and how effective they are in getting a message out to the masses.

Did you see the pattern? You have to know basic math. And, the chart is lying to you. Hint: It’s not all about addition…

Fibonacci SpiralI guess the point for me is this: I enjoy seeing patterns in the world around me. The Fibonacci sequence is pure pattern logic and helps to see exponential style growth in a movement.

Patterns help to expand our horizons, whether the patterns be for the good, or bad.

Patterns often point to whether the day, or event, will be good or not. I can think of messed up patterns to a church service that sort of ruins the day, just like I see messed up patterns to dining experience and wonder if the ending will be of value.

Patterns in relationship, include scriptural principles like:

Be angry and do not sin; do not let the sun go down on your anger,  (Ephesians 4:26 ESV)

I see spiritual patterns in the lives of people around me. Constantly missing, or late, or upset – well, there is something in the pattern that needs repairing. I knew a family that fought continually, and yet at church they were the nicest – this is a broken pattern!

We find patterns in nature as well as the created world. A well landscaped yard is pleasant to some, but I also enjoy the power of the wild yard – because there is often a pattern found in its unkempt look.

It’s amazing that we can find it all around us if we simply look for the patterns!

Remember, “If you always do what you’ve always done, you’ll always get what you’ve always gotten….” Some patterns need to be broken, others need to be repaired and re-instated.

Final thought: All patterns that start for good or bad can be just as dynamically changed by fortune or intention. News, good or bad, can change the pattern. Just as simply as God can change the pattern of the day you thought you were having…

So, keep an eye on the pattern but always be ready to react to the unforeseeable actions that might bump into your pattern.

Just a thought.

 

Leave a Reply

