1972

It was 42 years ago, this season…

Wassail Cup 2That was when I met my bride, Brenda Foshee. I was training as a bank teller at First State Bank of Greens Bayou, off Federal Road in Houston, Texas. I was wrapping up my senior year at LaPorte High School, taking one required government class every morning from 7:30-8:30, and then starting my job at 9:00.

My future mother-in-law, Loyce, was my trainer. One day her family came through the drive-up window we were working, just stopping by to say hello on the way to their horse pasture. Brenda was scrunched in the middle of the bench seat, from what I remember!

Hmmmm…. Interesting…

Shortly after that, her middle daughter, Brenda, was selling stuff for some function at the front door of the bank. This is the first time we chatted.

You see, part of my weekend responsibility was to mix up Wassail and serve it to bank customers on their Saturday morning trip to the bank.

When I offered Brenda and her co-worker some Wassail, she asked, “Did you make it?”

I was proud of my work! Of course I made it…

“No, thank you” was the reply!

It was a cool Saturday morning, outside in the shade, and a hot cup of Wassail was being proffered for free – and she wouldn’t partake because I made it. Here I was, about to graduate High School, college was around the corner, I had a good job, and drove a fabulous bright orange car… Was it me? Or the Wassail…

Hmmmmmmmm…. Interesting!

What was in the Wassail? Maybe she did not like the ingredients…

  • 2 Quarts of Apple Cider
  • 2 Cups of Orange Juice (Texsun brand) (I like it with pulp)
  • 1/2 Cup of Lemon Juice
  • 12 Whole Cloves wrapped in gauze to keep them from being swallowed
  • 4-6 Cinnamon Sticks
  • 1 pinch of Ground Ginger
  • 1 pinch of Ground Nutmeg
  • Float some sliced oranges or other favored fruit for color in the final mixture
  • (Stir it altogether and simmer on a slow burner or in a crockpot)
  • **Add other ingredients for taste: I like a couple of cups of pineapple juice included

 

All wholesome ingredients! Right?

Something must have worked it’s magic because we were dating a week later, and have now celebrated 40 years of wonderment!

Someone asked me yesterday about the secret to a long and successful marriage. There are many answers, but the one that comes quickly to mind – “Marry your friend.” The union is sealed not because of a piece of paper, or some governmental authority. It’s happily joined together because you are first friends before it ever becomes love. Marriage is not successful because you entered into the “right family” or the money… We all know these produce just as many issues as the poor person.

No, it’s really all about friendship!

I think it was friendship that sealed the relationship between Jesus and his followers.

“…I have called you friends…” (John 15:15)

Think about it!

Leave a Reply

