Peaceful Place and Time

It Is Not Often…

by Alexcia Shepard
by Alexcia Shepard

That I get a picture in my pathway that makes me want to simply slow down my rapid pace and just totally relax.

This is one of them!

There are a few places I can go for this feeling – my home, my deck, or some lonely off beaten trail far from people. It does not mean I have to be alone as there are a few people that I can enjoy their presence in my search for quiet and solitude.

If I had a fire place, and a cold stormy night, then I could simply enjoy the peaceful moment with a good cup of coffee and a pastry. Of course, that means I need year round winter!

When traveling and the crowds get to be too much, then a quiet corner of a coffee bar gives me peaceful resolve.

Israel Tour Group
Israel Tour Group

Traveling with a wonderful tour group who were mostly strangers when we met up in Israel required much down time to recoup my center. There was nothing wrong with the group, but the constant pressure of people, noise, and external stimuli that was not in my control… Well, it was nice having a room to escape to.

When noise gets to be too much, then pure silence is required and I enjoy my noise cancelling headset to bring quiet to the moment.

Why must you always have the radio blaring? Do you not value peace and solitude? I can go all day long without turning on the noise maker.

When the constant pressure from others demand your attention, then simply turning off the phone and disconnecting for a while is a great solution!

“Time is the scarcest resource of the manager; If it is not managed, nothing else can be managed.” ~Peter F. Drucker

When the visual stimuli gets to be too much, then there are some favored pictures that speak peace and quiet. Much like the first picture.

This made me wonder how Jesus handled the constant interruptions, press of people, clamoring needs and the incessant and constant demand of his time?

  • Matthew 14:23 ESV And after he had dismissed the crowds, he went up on the mountain by himself to pray. When evening came, he was there alone,
  • John 6:15 ESV Perceiving then that they were about to come and take him by force to make him king, Jesus withdrew again to the mountain by himself.

What I notice is that he had to take control of his own surroundings and escape from the crowds, noise and demands on his time.

He made it happen!

It’s like getting too much of social noise – shut it off. Too many people around – go to a quiet place. Too many demands on your time – find a better way of learning to say NO!

What do you do when you are alone? Practice solitude!

Leave a Reply

