Too Much, Or Not Enough

Do you remember language word problems of school years?

Apple GrapesPerhaps it is known as a comparison and contrast example, but “red is to green, as apple is to grape” helps me compare colors and objects via a their colors and purpose. Poor example, I know, but when life passes by so quickly it is often hard to slow down and find a better example!

Many terms clicked through my brain this morning as I considered where I am in life…

  • Too much to do and not enough day light vs Bring it on!
  • No mas’ vs Adelante’!
  • Bit off more than I can chew, or Hit the wall like a ton of bricks

What is it about life that we often accept more than we can handle, or we always look for more? Is it really too difficult to say “no”, or do we not see our own schedule with clear eyes? Perhaps it is simply learning how to better schedule our time, or organize our personal world more simply.

Each of us has a ceiling, or a wall, past which we cannot go less we become ineffective in everything. That barrier is not set in stone, but often changes with the seasons of life. Add one additional flavor to life, and it’s like adding one more egg to the brownie mix and change the results from that soft gooey version so many like, to a cake version that I prefer.

Snap of the fingersIt’s almost like taking a walk with someone that you enjoy walking with, until you get into a certain mode and their stride becomes different than your own. When I walk the store I like to “saunter” but my speed and pace does not match my wife’s!

She will walk off and leave me, “snap”, just like that!

We all have our limits and if you cannot recognize this, then you will fight this battle over and over.

How do you determine you limits?

My personal way is to consider my effectiveness. It’s a personal checklist determining whether I am doing a good job, vs simply being adequate, vs failing miserably! Regardless, there are ways to adjust, just as their are ways to consider the timing of life.

Along the way of life there are surprises that can change your world in a flash. Everything can turn upside down and all those controlled portions of life can flapjack in a second!

I’ve had a few of these things the past few months. Nothing tragic, but the overarching desire to go with the flow, while trying to control every detail – well, let’s just say that everything doesn’t always go your way!

The resulting experience can be maddening.

Then I think about the Psalmist and one particular scripture comes to mind.

He is like a tree planted by streams of water that yields its fruit in its season, and its leaf does not wither. In all that he does, he prospers.  (Psalms 1:3 ESV)

Fruit is produced in its proper season… Proper season. A time for everything. I wonder if this is the lesson his son learned as he wrote;

For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven: (Ecclesiastes 3:1 ESV)

There is a proper season for work, and rest, busy and slack, planting and reaping. Seasons change our perspective and work load and not knowing how to read where you are in each stage of life will keep your world confused.

One last thought: Be sure you are ready for the proper next step before it steps up to your plate and says, “Let me on!”

Leave a Reply

