A Touch of Home

When Travelling, There is Always a Joy for the things of Home!

2015-02-19 05.33.10
McDonald’s at Masada

Here I am, 11,000+ miles from home in another country. Everything is uniquely different. The diet is strange when you have “salad” entrees for breakfast, kosher choices which include dairy in the morning, meat in the evening, and not mixing of the two food groups that we have taken for granted. Then, add to that the flavors and spices that do not necessarily suit your homogenized taste buds…

You start looking for something familiar.

I have done this across Canada, Mexico, Iceland, Scotland, England, Germany, France, Jordan, and now again, in Israel. What you often find is not exactly what you want, but it’s so very nice to see a sign from home!

Though I found Outback and Safeway in Jordan, it seems that just about every where we went there was the ubiquitous McDonalds. In Scotland we found one on the side of an intersection and went there primarily because they had free WIFI and it allowed us that momentary touch to home. In Iceland we found one the last week of its existence as the chain was pulling out of the country, and we ordered by pictures because everything was written in Icelandia.

Not a real Starbucks in Bethlehem
Not a real Starbucks in Bethlehem

In France (layover at the airport), I did not find McDonalds, but a Starbucks instead – and they would not take my Starbucks card because it seems there is a difference between countries.

What is this constant desire to find something from home?

Even when it is not a normal place we would go to, we act overjoyed to see something familiar. When living in Alaska we often yearned for the restaurant lists from home, oh how we yearned for a Luther’s BBQ, or Chili’s. I used to go the the second Chili’s restaurant opened in Houston and loved their Old Timer’s with cheese and french fries. That is still the only thing I order these 38 years later.

I think there is a time coming with the things that we search for, something familiar, will no longer be what we are interested in here on earth. I cannot help but think there will be a day that our attention will be turned to another place, and all the wants and wishes here will fade away.

Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and the sea was no more. And I saw the holy city, new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride adorned for her husband. And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Behold, the dwelling place of God is with man. He will dwell with them, and they will be his people, and God himself will be with them as their God. He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.” And he who was seated on the throne said, “Behold, I am making all things new.” Also he said, “Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true.”  (Revelation 21:1-5 ESV)

Where’s your home?

This World is Not My Home

This world is not my home I’m just a-passin’ through
My treasures are laid up somewhere beyond the blue
The angels beckon me from heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore

Oh Lord, You know I have no friend like you
If heaven’s not my home then Lord what will I do?
The angels beckon me from heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore

I have a loving mother just over in glory land
And I don’t expect to stop until I shake her hand
She’s waiting now for me in heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore

Oh Lord, You know I have no friend like you
If heaven’s not my home then Lord what will I do?
The angels beckon me from heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore

Just over in glory land we’ll live eternally
The saints on every hand are shouting victory
Their songs of sweetest praise drift back from heaven’s shore
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore

Oh Lord, You know I have no friend like you
If heaven’s not my home then Lord what will I do?
The angels beckon me from heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore

Songwriters
Jr. Brumley

Published by
BRIDGE BUILDING MUSIC INC.

Read more: Jim Reeves – This World Is Not My Home Lyrics | MetroLyrics

Leave a Reply

