The Land of Too Many Hats

How Many Hats Do You Wear?

A wild thought came to me a little while ago.

“Some people wear hats out of necessity. Others wear them as a fashion statement. Then there are many who wear them simply because they do not know what else to do.”

Too Many HatsBut the effectiveness of the hat we wear is limited when we pile on too many, or reasons to wear a particular hat becomes limited with the style of the next hat.

What a balancing act!

How do you focus keeping on one hat when there is a need to wear another one?

Changing hats might change our role, but it should never change who we are! Hats have reason and purpose, but the person underneath is the same person regardless.

2015-03-06 13.45.05I have a favorite hat that I bought about 13 years ago in Alaska. With a big head, I find it is hard to find a “one size fits all” hat to fit, and when I get one then I hate to retire it!

This hat mows the yard with me, and plays with my dogs when I exercise them daily, and, yes, it evens goes out into public! It protects me from the sun, the cold, and until it completely wears out this hat will stay with me until a better one comes along. It is tattered, weak, and well worn, but it is MY hat and I am very comfortable with it.

Sometimes we allow the hat, and its corresponding role, instruct us on our we should live and act. If I cannot be the same person that I am without the hat, then I have no business putting on a new hat, or taking on the role it represents.

The Apostle Paul describes the concept of hats like this:

For though I am free from all, I have made myself a servant to all, that I might win more of them. To the Jews I became as a Jew, in order to win Jews. To those under the law I became as one under the law (though not being myself under the law) that I might win those under the law. To those outside the law I became as one outside the law (not being outside the law of God but under the law of Christ) that I might win those outside the law. To the weak I became weak, that I might win the weak. I have become all things to all people, that by all means I might save some. I do it all for the sake of the gospel, that I may share with them in its blessings. (1 Corinthians 9:19-23 ESV)

Everything I do, and all that I am involved in, should have one purpose in mind. Regardless of what my role, or my hat portends, I have one job to do. Even when I take on the role assigned to me, I must stay who I am called to be. My personality does not change. My interest in the well being of others does not change. Nor does the love I feel for my family.

Paul said that regardless of the “hat” he wears his entire focus is to reach everyone…

Should our focus be equal to our calling? Regardless of our hat? Yes!

Selah….

Leave a Reply

