Who Said That?

I ask this often, even more so with Social Media…

Quote MarksWe are bombarded with quotes from famous people. Twitter is nothing if not a library of 144 character sentences with a reputed line from someone who once was.

That being said, does it mean what is being quoted needs a famous name associated with it to make it more meaningful? Perhaps the original thought from whoever penned the saying needs to be famous for it to be received. But even if I see a quote I enjoy, I attempt to independently verify it before repeating it. Else we are simply repeating a falsehood.

Even when we think we are repeating something someone else said, I am sure we never get it exactly correct. Maybe the “gist” is the only thing we hope for.

So, when I find something that appeals to me I try to find the source from whence it came. Barring success, and sometimes it is a difficult task, I will simply recite it as an “Unknown”… 

Some of the best quotes that relate to me the most come from famous leaders of the past – Churchill, Lincoln, and other such notables. I really relate to messages from Einstein! Guess this means I’m smart, or I simply do not understand him but think I do.

The gullible might read something they like, and it has a source they respect, and they will simply recite it over and again declaring its validity. For example, I saw a tweet recently that was a quote of Lincoln that said something about a modern event. Obviously, it was not a direct quote.

Many of us that use the Bible as a source of strength and making better life choices often mis-quote the scripture. Yes… Even I am guilty of that! Fortunately we have a ready book available to verify the quote. We should verify this easily.

What makes me think about this today? Someone tweeted a comment about love and happiness. At first I thought it appropriate, but upon deeper consideration I realized it was a falsehood. True love does not come trying to fix it where another is “happy”…. True love comes when you love even when another cannot reciprocate.

Consider the words of Jesus:

“A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another. By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.” (John 13:34-35 ESV)

Note this, our example of love does not come from anyone else. It is exampled by how He loved us – sacrificially. Right? We are his disciples when we example the same kind of love for one another.

Additionally, this means that I look for those who sacrifice for others and note their example of Jesus. The one that loved Jesus the most was his disciple, John (John 13:23). John took the same words of Jesus and repeated them a little different….. Note, he is not talking to just anyone. He’s talking to followers of God.

“Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God, and whoever loves has been born of God and knows God. Anyone who does not love does not know God, because God is love. In this the love of God was made manifest among us, that God sent his only Son into the world, so that we might live through him. In this is love, not that we have loved God but that he loved us and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins. Beloved, if God so loved us, we also ought to love one another.” (1 John 4:7-11 ESV)

If God so loved us, we also ought to love one another. No where in any of my readings can I find that love makes you a happier person. Nor is my happiness found in your extension of love. Love and happiness do not go hand in glove when it is not found outside of the realm of God. In fact, Jesus is quoted in Revelations like this:

“Those whom I love, I reprove and discipline, so be zealous and repent.”  (Revelation 3:19 ESV)

Since God is love, and since He loves everyone – then he reproves (corrects) and disciplines them so that they will repent. Repent? Yes, when we go from Godly ways, then correction and discipline leads back to Him and under the covenant of Love.

“In this is love, not that we have loved God but that he loved us and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins.” (1 John 4:10 ESV)

This, then is love – the ultimate payment system of our sins.

What is true love? If it is not a Godly love that leads someone to Christ, then it is simply what we call love in this world today. I cannot think of a better way to quote Love to another. It has nothing to do with your happiness. It has everything to do with Godly example.

 

 

Leave a Reply

