You Are What You…

… Eat, Think, Do, Act…

You Are What You ThinkIt’s amazing that we can think of ourselves in so many different ways. Imagine for a second that you think of yourself in a super hero category. For a brief moment of time you are imaged to yourself as that character.

I remember wearing a towel around my neck, fastened with a safety pin, zooming around the yard as if I were Superman!

I also remember thinking I looked like Timmy on Lassie and yearned often for a Collie!

When we are young, our imaginations are wrapped up in those characters we read and see. Glorious times those are to imagine you are Frank Hardy! Not Joe, he was the younger of the two and I am the older of the four! Or Tom Swift with all those amazing gadgets.

The older I get the more I see myself in reality. There are many roles that I play, and my thinking cap produces the character of reality.

I read the other day that humans think between 50,000 and 70,000 Thoughts Per Day! Wow! Imagine your immediate role, or need, or plans, or troubles, and ask: How many thoughts did I spend on that endeavor?

No wonder we often find ourselves at the far end of the spectrum of those closest to us. How can we expect everyone to know what we think? We certainly do not act on all these thoughts else we might find ourselves offending many!

Then, as an adult, fill your mind with more adult themes found in life, entertainment, advertisements…. How do you deal with the thoughts these images produce?

Now, think about the thoughts God has toward us! Your imaginations, sin, disobedience, unlawful life… These should produce a righteous indignation of judgment! Yet, in spite of what we are, or what we think, God has thoughts about us that are different!

“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. (12) Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. (13) You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart.”  Jeremiah 29:11-13 ESV 

He has good thoughts… Even in his anger and wrath to come, his immediate thoughts are for us to grow and become what we should be. There may even come a particular time when you will call on him, pray to him – and he will hear you! You will seek him, and find him!

Paul, gives us a lesson on how to handle our thoughts…

“For though we walk in the flesh, we are not waging war according to the flesh. For the weapons of our warfare are not of the flesh but have divine power to destroy strongholds. We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ, being ready to punish every disobedience, when your obedience is complete.”  (2 Corinthians 10:3-6 ESV)

In our fleshly living, our fight is not against our flesh, but against the spiritual forces that challenge our daily walk. Most of the fight is internal, and not external. Sinful choices may produce an outward expression, but the wrong choices come from the heart, and the way we think about something!

Don’t let your thoughts become your enemy. Take every thought CAPTIVE. Lock it away. Through away the key…

You can control what you THINK, and this will make a better you!

Leave a Reply

