Have you ever wondered….

What’s It All About?

Alexia“What’s it all about, Alfie?” I stopped to look up the lyrics because I can only remember this single phrase. I have no clue as to who wrote it, who put the music to the lyrics, or even who sang the song. In my mind I do not remember even if it is a male or female… The only thing that remains is the phrase – “what’s it all about…”.

Maybe it’s because a recent birthday put me in the 60 and older crowd, but I can honestly say that I’ve been looking at life happening around me with questioning eyes. Nothing is the same, and the world is getting weirder. Treasured icons are now tarnished and being dismantled. Maybe for good reason, but we are seeing the past being tossed with the bath water! Wild acceptance for the abnormal is now the new normal – and if you cannot adapt then you are now abnormal yourself.

Are you not weary with the craziness that is Hollywood, Sports, and Politics? Don’t get me started on our fascination with technology! We spend hundreds and thousands of dollars, and every few years it’s outdated and we have to adapt all over again!

Is it not all just distractions to the way we are supposed to be living? Countries melting down, while others are heating up. The stock market is continually pushing that 20,000 mark and I think of a big bubble just waiting to pop. We worry about our families, jobs, finances, peace, and safety.

Even the atmosphere is just that! Crazy! It seems like the upheaval is waiting to happen, just like that earthquake that is supposed to wipe out the west coast!.

I’m all for returning to that bedrock that was the foundation of youth and finding answers there. There are no answers in the world that surrounds us. 

Where does Hope come from? When is the last time you had true Joy? Is Peace begging for entrance into your home? How about let’s letting that True Love respond instead of the worldly definition of Love?

All of these quiet thoughts made me think of a favorite song of my youth by Ira Stanphill called “Follow Me”.

I traveled down a lonely road And no one seemed to care;
The burden on my weary back Had bowed me to despair,
I oft complained to Jesus How folks were treating me,
And then I heard Him say so tenderly,
“My feet were also weary, Upon the Calv’ry road;
The cross became so heavy, I fell beneath the load,
Be faithful weary pilgrim, The morning I can see,
Just lift your cross and follow close to me.”

“I work so hard for Jesus” I often boast and say,
“I’ve sacrificed a lot of things To walk the narrow way,
I gave up fame and fortune, I’m worth a lot to Thee,”
And then I hear Him gently say to me.
“I left the throne of glory And counted it but loss,
My hands were nailed in anger Upon a cruel cross,
But now we’ll make the journey With your hand safe in mine,
So lift your cross and follow close to me.

Oh, Jesus if I die upon A foreign field some day,
‘Twould be no more than love demands No less could I repay,
“No greater love hath mortal man Than for a friend to die”
These are the words He gently spoke to me,
“If just a cup of water I place within your hand
Then just a cup of water Is all that I demand,”
But if by death to living They can thy glory see,
I’ll take my cross and follow close to thee.

So, I ask this question, “What’s it all about?” Maybe we all need to refresh our thinking in light of why we are truly here…

Leave a Reply

