Lonely, Said I

I am unsure where it came from.

Lonely Acorn
Lonely Acorn

Nor how long it had been there. In the few days leading up to the holiday weekend, I had rushed about feeding the dogs, walking them for a few minutes before returning them to their pen, working on some things that needed to be done quickly before the weekend arrived. Locking the dogs up I happened to glance at a patch of dirt, and there it lay. An acorn. Ready to be stepped on and crushed.

It was in the way of my big feet or the pounding of the dogs.

Picking it up and putting it in my pocket, I thought about the acorn for a few minutes.

How did it get here? There’s not an oak tree around, and unless some of my other trees in the area produce similar acorns – how on earth did it arrive? There are no squirrels in the area, no chipmunks, or any other scavenging animal that may be working on saving it for a winter meal. Perhaps a mole, vole or field mice – they exist in abundance.

In the dogs pen there is a rock about the size of a washtub of laundry. They dig around it, excited about something going on underneath. If they keep digging, eventually the rock will keep settling – who knows, maybe they will bury it. Perhaps there are some field mice there. Perhaps they carried the acorn from some distance bringing it home for the larder.

After awhile, I thought about the potential of that acorn. If it gets treated right, then it has the potential to grow into a mighty tree.

You see… This acorn  remains alone, and lonely, until it does what it’s supposed to do. It has a job to complete…

“Truly, truly, I say to you, unless a grain of wheat falls into the earth and dies, it remains alone; but if it dies, it bears much fruit. Whoever loves his life loses it, and whoever hates his life in this world will keep it for eternal life.” ~(John 12:24-25 ESV)

On the back part of my yard where I have allowed the weeds and grasses to grow wild, there are several clusters of fir trees. When moving the tractor through there a few years ago, I spotted several small seedlings growing around the dew line of the trees. I have watched them, cleared around them, protected them from the dogs and myself, and have watched them grow from 2 inches tall to nearly 2 feet. It’s a little experiment of mine to see how they survive without all the cultivation we give to other trees in the yard.

I have not checked on them in about six months – must be about time to see how they have grown…

When you see all the pine cones that fall off the big trees regularly and the natural seeding process that happens as the cones dry and provide the protection and resources for the potential of the seeds contained within.

On the cusp of my thinking I consider the purpose of the acorn, or even the pine cone. The seeds are produced, drop onto the ground, die, and then hopefully  it will fulfill it’s purpose and begin to produce results. Challenges are faced every single day. But each challenge will either allow it to continue to grow and slay it. This lonely seed pod, left it the devices of the elements of time and weather, will either grow up, or it won’t. I can either help this acorn grow by tossing it back into the yard, or I can keep it as a reminder of the potential of the lonely.

We all have little nuggets of thoughts, or even little responsibilities lying around – they will either grow into something, or not.

It just makes me think of the hidden potential around us… Every single day…

Leave a Reply

