Some Wounds….

… Well… Just Wait a Moment!

First Aid KitSome wounds are related to self-imposed actions and I guess you get what you do to yourself!

It’s like a razor cut when you move your head at the wrong time and the blade leaves a slice behind on your chin and the bleeding just will not stop. Water, ice, bandage… Only time causes the wound to slow down its bleeding!

You are your own worst enemy!

Other wounds come from being blind-sided, and again that’s probably self-imposed also. You should have seen it coming but it comes out of the blue. It’s sort of like that football player who cold-cocked the up and coming quarterback. Broke his jaw. The player was dropped from the team, and the quarterback is out for 6-10 weeks of surgery and recovery.

Still, there are wounds that come from the enemy. Either the enemy of your soul, or from the world in general. If it is true that we are never given more than we can conquer (1 Corinthians 10:13), and we have been given exactly what we need to win, then we need to robe ourselves with God’s Armor (Ephesians 6:11-18), and stand like the soldiers we are (1 Samuel 4:9, 1 Corinthians 16:13), submit ourselves to God (James 4:7) and resist the devil (James 4:7)….

“Behold, I have given you authority to tread on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy, and nothing shall hurt you.” (Luke 10:19 ESV)

We will all still be victim of wounds of our friends (Zechariah 13:6), but we should not be stung by the onslaught of the enemy of our soul. We may be affected for a little while, but we shall come through stronger.

David as a Shepherd I Samuel 16:11
David as a Shepherd I Samuel 16:11

“A Psalm of David. Hear my prayer, O LORD; give ear to my pleas for mercy! In your faithfulness answer me, in your righteousness! Enter not into judgment with your servant, for no one living is righteous before you. For the enemy has pursued my soul; he has crushed my life to the ground; he has made me sit in darkness like those long dead. Therefore my spirit faints within me; my heart within me is appalled. I remember the days of old; I meditate on all that you have done; I ponder the work of your hands. I stretch out my hands to you; my soul thirsts for you like a parched land. Selah. Answer me quickly, O LORD! My spirit fails! Hide not your face from me, lest I be like those who go down to the pit. Let me hear in the morning of your steadfast love, for in you I trust. Make me know the way I should go, for to you I lift up my soul. Deliver me from my enemies, O LORD! I have fled to you for refuge. Teach me to do your will, for you are my God! Let your good Spirit lead me on level ground! For your name’s sake, O LORD, preserve my life! In your righteousness bring my soul out of trouble! And in your steadfast love you will cut off my enemies, and you will destroy all the adversaries of my soul, for I am your servant.” (Psalms 143:1-12 ESV)

Leave a Reply

