…And the beat goes on…

Yes… I know you are humming the tune…

Backyard Morning MusingsA day past my 12th birthday, this song by Sonny and Cher made it to #6 on the Billboard Hot 100 song list. I am not even sure that at this time in my life that I knew who Sonny and Cher were, much less listened to the popular music of the day. (I will tell you that as I look back over the list of top songs for 1967, I know every single one of them today. (Click Here))

Then, as now, my mind and heart followed a different beat.

I was more into Gospel music with a little bit of Country from the likes of Eddy Arnold and Jim Reeves, and a little bit Folk music from the likes of The Kingston Trio. There was a time when the more modern beats of “light” rock was enjoyed, but for the most part my focus never took up residence on those radio dials.

Backyard Spider WebWaking this morning after a 6 hour sleep, I wandered the yard with my dogs, enjoying the coolness, wet grass, and the sun making an appearance. Both dogs found an apple to chomp. The horses were in hiding. Cattle are lowing in the distance, and I think I hear some of the sheep bleating.

It’s a beautiful and quiet morning. The sun is whispering through the trees and mist, slowly making its appearance. I dread the thought of the day getting away from this lovely time. My plate is full of tasks that must be accomplished today, and this weekend. And I think…

How do people live with out this quiet morning experience?

It is somewhere between the dark of night, and that early blush of morning, a time that we may call “very early” that I find to be the most productive of mental and self evaluation. Throughout scripture we find this to be a common time of standing before God, as Abraham did the morning after the destruction of Sodom and Gomorrah.

And Abraham went early in the morning to the place where he had stood before the LORD.  (Genesis 19:27 NKJV)

We no longer find Abraham contemplating his negotiation with God over the status of Lot and his family. Nor do we find Abraham to be in anguish as he sees the smoke rise over the plain where once stood Sodom and Gomorrah. Nor do we find him stressed. It’s almost as if this calmness of standing before God quiets the rumblings of his soul. And he finds peace.

There is something very calming about the early morning. Before the day beats the “ever living daylight” out of you (!!!), or the phone, social media and emails start to crowd your peace, take a morning to simply stand before God, and let the morning waken you to a freshness. Let the calm still your soul. Strength is garnered in these precious moments. And there is a peace to be found.

It is in these early mornings that I find my place of utter calmness before God. The stresses of career, church, family, and life in general are submerged below the horizon. The sweetness of His presences gives me confidence to face the day.

How about you? Did you enjoy your early morning time of refreshment before God?

2 thoughts on “…And the beat goes on…

  1. How I would love to be able to enjoy the beautiful mornings you describe. I too, am a “morning” person and make a point of getting up at least an hour before my husband, just so I can have my quiet time of bible reading and time to commune with the Giver of peace. But, instead of the sound of cows, horses or sheep, the sounds I hear are of the busy street behind my home or the air conditioning unit cutting on and off trying to keep us comfortable. Even so, hardly a day goes by that I don’t give thanks for what I do have, health, a comfortable home, though small, and a husband that loves God, also children ( 5 ) and their families, who for the most part are dedicated to the Lord! So, my friend, I’m happy for the wonderful life God has given you, your wonderful parents that I admire and love so much, as well as your own immediate family! We are just blessed, aren’t we?

    Like

    • Thank you so much for reading and sharing. We have been blessed to be where we are for over 12 years. It’s a God thing… Proud of you and yours being so focused with God, and being able to stay living in the Humidity! Glad you are with my family down there! Blessings!

      Like

Leave a Reply

