Staying Connected

This past week of traveling…

Staying ConnectedKept me loading up my podcasts playlist with things to listen to as I put nearly 1,800 miles on my truck on the 5 day trip. I am normally okay with complete silence, but felt the impetus to listen – webinar’s, news reports, radio shows, teaching sessions… you name it, I listened to variety.

  • EntreLeadership from the Dave Ramsey company
  • Grace Church
  • Vinyl Cafe and Prairie Down Home Companion
  • Fresh Air, Story Corp, Wait, Wait, This American Life, RadioLab – all found on the NPR stations.

And, various radio programs on the AM dial as I moved on down the road… Oh, and a live webinar on how to create online teaching sessions and market them successfully. Yes, I listened to a lot of live coverage of the Pope on the East Coast, and the President of China on the West Coast and take special notice that the leader of India will be in Silicon Valley this week as I write.

You might say my list was eclectic, but there is much to be found that is educational and entertaining.

Along the way, I drove only during daytime hours, trying to keep a semblance of ordered life while living on the road. Besides, I do not want to miss the scenery even though I’ve made this similar journey 20 times or more.

I suspect the one main connection point that I intentionally missed was social media. I only checked in during pit-stops, or while in daily planning sessions at my destination. I think I penned a blog or two, updated a few tweets and Facebook, and maybe even looked at a few Instagram photography sessions.

But social media was not my main point of connection!

I was really feeling the need to connect with myself, more than with other people. Hmmm… Put it into the written form and it sounds like I spent a lot of time talking to myself! But that’s not true.

The best thing about staying connected was the feeling of disconnecting. I was looking for some “alone” time, while needing to be busy with life. Connecting, yet apart.

Imagine a historical figure like Jesus. We find him thronged and pressed by people everywhere. Those that wanted him, hated, needed, fearful of… Everyone sought him. Early in his ministry, and we find this a number of times, Jesus would simply seek out some “alone” time.

Now in the morning, having risen a long while before daylight, He went out and departed to a solitary place; and there He prayed. And Simon and those who were with Him searched for Him. When they found Him, they said to Him, “Everyone is looking for You.”  (Mark 1:35-37 NKJV)

Long before others were moving, it seemed the only time he could find his “alone” time was by rising early, and slipping away to a solitary place. And he prayed.

Did I tell you that this trip also included some special times of prayer while traveling down the road? This was probably my best spendable and profitable time. Taking time to talk to God, taking time to listen. In fact, I think we should spend more time listening more than talking. You know, two ears, one mouth.

And maybe that’s a lesson to learn from my trip. Take time to listen more than you speak. Gotta think this through a little bit. You?

 

Leave a Reply

