The Higher I Go

Its early morning.

SunriseI’ve been warding off a cold and it seems like the cold is winning! My chest is sore from coughing. My voice is raspy. Congestion piles up and the medicine dries it up. I am awake every hour our or so, all through the night, and the past couple of nights have been the restless and chilly. Of course, this means there are some necessary and frequent hard naps throughout the day.

Walking down the stairs a couple of hours ago, I could tell it was lighting up outside – probably about 4:30 am. But when I compare the height of the sky and the lowness of the ground out the window, I realized it’s always lighter the higher you go. I was walking down, into darkness, holding onto the banister less I slip and fall. If I wanted more light then I should be climbing higher, not descending.

Lighter The Higher I Go! … The light arrives sooner the higher I am! … I can enjoy light for a longer period of time the Higher I Go!

This thought came to me in a flash. You want to see the good, positive and far off blessings? You got to get higher. You cannot live in a low estate and enjoy the possibility! You have to get higher in order to see the hope-ability revealed! You cannot continue to wallow around in the excesses of normal life at ground level.

You have to find a way to get higher!

It is in the height of living positively that we find ourselves closer to God! It’s not that he is a stranger when we walk in darkness, or the dreaded low points of life, but I find my strength when I walk with him high above the doldrums of life!

Elihu replied to Job after many days on consoling him in his distress, “Look unto the heavens, and see; and behold the clouds which are higher than thou.” (Job 35:5 KJV) The light of the heavens are shown in the clouds. On the mountaintops. Long before it ever reaches our pathway. It’s from the high sunlight, and the moisture leaden skies, that we find our rainbows. That promise from God. The beautiful arch in the sky that tells us of the ending of the storm!

When I’m low, all I see is the immediate step in front of me, and most times I cannot see even that clearly. The crowd of trees, the blockage of the sky, the lowness of the valley, the press of others who are in the same boat …. We sort of feast on each other’s misery. It’s all dark down here. Each step is measured to prevent a fall. A misstep. I cannot see the pitfalls that cause me to stumble, and hurt myself needlessly.

Every wrong step only takes me lower and I realize it’s a long way back to the lighter experience!

David cried out from his distress, looking higher than the rut of life he found himself in:

…Hear my cry, O God; attend unto my prayer. From the end of the earth will I cry unto thee, when my heart is overwhelmed: lead me to the rock that is higher than I. For thou hast been a shelter for me, and a strong tower from the enemy. I will abide in thy tabernacle for ever: I will trust in the covert of thy wings. Selah. (Psalms 61:1-4 KJV)

That rock that is higher! That mountain that gives way to the broad view of distance, impossible heights, and a distant view of the lowlands! Higher! Let’s keep striving to get higher! Why? God is there!

“For as the heavens are higher than the earth, So are My ways higher than your ways, And My thoughts than your thoughts. (Isaiah 55:9 NKJV)

Compare that his heavens are higher than the earth we live on! His ways are higher than our ways! His thoughts are higher than our thoughts!

In my own strength I can never get high enough. But when he calls me, then he prepares me with the ability to climb higher. The higher I go, the closer I get to where I can see better. The air is rarefied up here… It’s not a place for the ill-prepared. God prepare me…

Think about Samson. Blessed of God from before birth, a promise was upon him based on his lifestyle. But he kept dabbling around with the wiles of the world. It’s almost as if he wanted to test how close he could get before it was too close… Slowly, and surely, he stepped lower and lower. Finally, he reveals the source of his strength and it is take from him.

And she said, “The Philistines are upon you, Samson!” So he awoke from his sleep, and said, “I will go out as before, at other times, and shake myself free!” But he did not know that the LORD had departed from him. (Judges 16:20 NKJV)

Catch it? He did not even know how low he had gone! Snap! The jaws of the trap of this world had captured him! He has gone a step too far. It was too late. His fate is sealed.

I do not think we were meant to live in such a low place of life. From the early garden and creation stories I read that we were meant to have a place of position and promise with God. Enjoying his fellowship. Enjoying his blessings. But when we get too low and too close to this world, then we have only to look up and find that far off place that we need to return too. His light is Higher than I…

Then Jesus spoke to them again, saying, “I am the light of the world. He who follows Me shall not walk in darkness, but have the light of life.”  (John 8:12 NKJV)

Let’s get out of the darkness. Let’s get out of the lowlands. Let’s turn our eyes higher and look to the light!

Leave a Reply

