Re-Evaluate Yourself

With each new step on this 31 day journey…

Staircase - Stairway to the Sky - CanadaYou have a fresh opportunity to evaluate yourself. Who am I? Where am I going? Best, or right, direction? Anything left undone that needs to be addressed? What’s missing in my toolbox that needs to be added? Removed? Has my destination changed? Are there any conditions that need to be re-mediated before continuing on?

If, with every step I have firm answers to these questions, then this is nothing but a momentary pause on the journey. I like what Dave Ramsey said about today, Monday.

Monday is your clean slate. If there is something in your life that you dont like, CHANGE IT! Begin taking steps today!” ~@DaveRamsey

Change may be lengthy, and it may pause your journey. But if you have no destination in mind that is firmly ensconced in your psyche, then take the moment and begin the change! I’ve written many times that it is not about the destination, rather, it’s all about the journey.

The one good thing about having these questions is that they provide a valuable set of boundaries, a framework that keeps you surrounded by your choices. They keep you corralled. Focused. They help you analyze new circumstances.

Change, or barriers that appear, require some effort to adjust to new conditions. Whether micro-adjustments or large jumps required, boundaries show you the way!

Don’t be afraid to take a big step if one is indicated. You can’t cross a chasm in two small jumps.” ~David Lloyd George

What do you want your life to look like? I want my daily walk to be pleasing and a pleasure. For me, my family, my God and my life. I want the ending of life to be a view of satisfaction about the difference I have made in another persons life.

“The steps of a man are established by the LORD, when he delights in his way; though he fall, he shall not be cast headlong, for the LORD upholds his hand.” (Psalms 37:23-24 ESV)

I want my steps to delight the Lord, while at the same time I know that God allows me to thread life with steps that are unique to my frame.

“He knows us inside and out, keeps in mind that we’re made of mud.” (Psalms 103:14 MSG)

This does not mean I leave His framework, rather I work within his law and his pleasure. Just as I work within the boundaries of my job, construct of the law, or live within the parameters of my marriage, I must also live in the frame of God’s rule.

Where are your steps leading you today?

 

Leave a Reply

