How To Choose A Proper TO-DO System

My first purchase of Microsoft Office…

To Do Lists…was for my computer back in the early 90’s…. Gateway 66DX2, or something like this, running Windows 3.11. Back then MSOffice came with 37 diskettes. I still have them!

Having used MSOffice for years leading up to this, and making full use of Outlook was a given. Email, calendar and task list – if my memory serves me correctly. MS Project was also a favored tool for keeping up with all the complicated tasks of the varied tech projects I worked on.

This to say, I am totally used to the idea of keeping up with tasks with a tech solution (although I fall back to pen and scratch paper at time!). The problem is that the platforms in use are changing constantly. My world includes Windows and Apple devices, along with many internet systems. The Apps in use between these two platforms are constantly changing and I have yet to find a simple tool for keeping up with all my tasks from either sets of computing devices.

Developers for each platform are working hard at staying on the cutting edge of change.

Additionally, I am torn with the ease of use and power that Google provides in apps and internet, and the low cost options that are available, and the ease of taking shared calendars on the internet and allowing access to blog and websites.

How do I merge all these things into one simple “To Do” app that will meet all my communication needs between platforms and tools I am using in multiple places?

I’m not sure there is an answer, and my mind is full of things that need to get done. Frustration at lack of success keeps me searching! The one tool that I’ve held at arms length for a long time but am starting to investigate is Evernote. Along with capturing articles, storing data, creating a multitude of formats ready for later use, it has some powerful features I’m still analyzing.

Regardless of the final tool that you use, why not think about the task as something that requires your energy now. Today. All your might. Here’s something to consider.

“Whatever you do, do well. For when you go to the grave, there will be no work or planning or knowledge or wisdom. I have observed something else under the sun. The fastest runner doesn’t always win the race, and the strongest warrior doesn’t always win the battle. The wise sometimes go hungry, and the skillful are not necessarily wealthy. And those who are educated don’t always lead successful lives. It is all decided by chance, by being in the right place at the right time. People can never predict when hard times might come. Like fish in a net or birds in a trap, people are caught by sudden tragedy. (Ecclesiastes 9:10-12, NLT)

Tyndale House Publishers. (2013). Holy Bible: New Living Translation (Ec 9:10–12). Carol Stream, IL: Tyndale House Publishers.

This was written thousands of years ago. It’s premise is true today. Work hard. Handle what you can, now. Because there will come a day when you will no longer be able to work. So work while you’re able!

Leave a Reply

