Keep Your Eyes on the Future

But do not ignore the next step – the missed step can be a doozy!

Monument Valley 001Day 13 of 31 steps on a 31 day journey…

I was born on the 13th and am not afraid of this number!

Where are we going? How do we get there? What’s the best way to get there? Roadblocks? Re-directs?

My son introduced me to this game called “Monument Valley” and I’ve played it tirelessly on my iPad. (My granddaughter is a wiz at this and she’s not even 4!) The character has many pathways and levels to go through, sometimes taking control of the situation and twisting the world around so the next step can work, and other times simply waiting until proper moment to continue on.

Sometimes you get stuck, sometimes you go the wrong way. 

Sometimes the next move makes sense. Sometimes it makes absolutely no sense! Too many times you backtrack and try it again….

“For we all stumble in many things….” (James 3:2 NKJV)

There’s probably not a single person I know that has not missed a step in life. Maybe a few more than one. It’s all about what we do when we fall down… Even when we know we are reaching the end of our time, it’s within my frame to accept that I may stumble, but I always want to get up and keep going the right direction.

Remembering that I’ll be dead soon is the most important tool I’ve ever encountered to help me make the big choices in life. Because almost everything – all external expectations, all pride, all fear of embarrassment or failure – these things just fall away in the face of death, leaving only what is truly important.” ~Steve Jobs

That last step, to some, will be a welcome respite to the race of life. Not me. I want to keep getting back up and keep on going!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

