Where Will You Be In 5 Years?

The Interview… The dreaded questions.

The delving into your personality, psyche and direction of your life. Will you be a good fit? Will you last?

All these thoughts are going through the mind of the interviewer and the applicant.

Some of the toughest questions we seem to catch us as if we are ill prepared for them. Yet, we should  have prepared for them in advance.

For example, consider this very innocuous question:

Where will you be in 5 years?

Have you heard that old proverb?

The best time to plant a tree is twenty years ago.

The second best time is now.

Consider this: You are answering the interview question, even when you are not being directly asked…How?

By all the things you focus on right now!

A retirement does not automatically happen, it is a long process of steadily setting aside the money and assets so that it does not catch you unaware.

A career does not show up overnight, it is the garnered by the steady steps – schooling, entry level, proving yourself, advancement – eventually you realize you are into the midst of your career and you have “arrived”…

A couple of things recently happened and my thinking cap has engaged in answering this question. It’s not like I have a planned event that must happen in 5 years, but if I cannot answer this question then I am not preparing for what my life will look like in 5 years.

Someone just emailed me via a mass email list.

“Don’t prepare. Begin. Our enemy is not lack of preparation. The enemy is resistance, our chattering brain producing excuses. Start before you are ready.”  (S. Pressfield)

If you wait until everything is “perfect” to do something, you’ll wait forever. Start Now – because a year from now, you’ll be glad you did or wish you had.

I am so glad that I begin completing my degree – 5 years ago. I have been a perpetual student for the past 40+ years of adulthood. Never with a thought of locking down a diploma – education was all about getting what I needed for my next step. My MA in Leadership produced opportunity for me to teach online this past year – making money form the comfort of my home and computer!

I started working toward my doctorate but the degree is a premium and I do not have the money to dedicate to the task. Hmmm… What next?

There is power in your spoken words. What you talk about the most is probably where your heart and mind constantly spends time. Less you only talk about your plans, but don’t prepare to complete the task, begin now to make your speech become fruitful!

We all know people who are big talkers, and not big doers… Even the Bible speaks about not just being a “hearer” but a “doer”. (James 1:23-25)  Generate some Action in your Speaking! Do something about what your big plans!

When that interview question does pop up, then you will not be surprised – your answer will be your actions!

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

