Fresh Ideas

Someone asked me where I come up with my blog posts…

Photo permitted by A. Shepard
Photo permitted by Alexcia Shepard

Don’t you ever run out of things to say?

You might as well ask if the sun will ever stop shining!

The thing about my blog is that I have more thoughts about things to say than time in the day to write about them. Everything I look at becomes a thought.

How did it get here? What’s it’s story? How you you make that item? When did someone first think that was an okay food item? 

You know the questions we learned in grade school? Who? What? When? Where? How? Why? All are very applicable to everything we deal with and the answers are often surprising – at least when you first learn of them. Then all that knowledge builds into a fountain of information. Wealth! Power! Win Trival Pursuit!!!

Consider this true story. Each had a childhood event that put them into bed for a long period of time. One was very secular in his approach to time spent. The other a bit more spiritual. The first man read the entire Encyclopedia Britannica. The other man focused on reading the Bible, over and over again.

The first man I met when I was in my teens. A boss of sorts, but definitely an owner of a growing concern. The second man I met in my 30’s. A great leader and pastor today. Each had characteristics that I used in forming myself. Only, I did not have them at the same time leading my mind down certain paths.

I love knowledge. Facts. Being able to recall information to put to use for the moment. All of this while dealing with the secular world behind me, and while pastoring my church around me.

I think this is why my mind is so full of things to write about, and this is why I will probably only stop writing when I begin struggling with sharing.

So… Think about your past and what brings you to this day. What have you learned? Who taught you? When were your questions answered, or when did you find the answer on your own? Where have you been, along with have your senses become aware of? How did you get to the place you are in, and how will you get to the place you are going?

Finally… Why?

Do not let anyone hinder you from learning about the things around you. Consider, simply, that Jesus spoke the same concept about a certain subject 2,000 years ago.

“Woe to you lawyers! For you have taken away the key of knowledge. You did not enter in yourselves, and those who were entering in you hindered.” (Luke 11:52 NKJV)

You have taken away the key of knowledge…. Hold onto your key!

My Blog Motto: Everything begins with a very simple thought and grows into a magnificent premise and returns to a very simple thought…

Leave a Reply

