Singing My Song

May I Continue My Thought?

I began talking about a song last Saturday (Click Here For Blog Post).  What is your song?

While sharing at church yesterday I really felt like we need to think this through. Personalize and take ownership of a song that is foundational. A song that identifies with who we are, or who we hope to become. Something that defines where we have been and what we have dealt with (presently or in our past).

Consider this song of King David.

To the Chief Musician. A Psalm of David. I waited patiently for the LORD; And He inclined to me, And heard my cry. He also brought me up out of a horrible pit, Out of the miry clay, And set my feet upon a rock, And established my steps. He has put a new song in my mouth— Praise to our God; Many will see it and fear, And will trust in the LORD.  (Psalms 40:1-3 NKJV)

I imagine David rehearsing his lines through his mind. Remembering his plight, working out the phrases he would use when sharing it forward, and then speaking from his heart.

Notice that he writes “to the Chief Musician”. There are 55 psalms with this proclamation. It must be an important designation that a psalm would be directed to the person(s) in charge of the music for the Temple or the Nation.

  • Psalms 4, 5, 6, 8, 12, 54, 55, 61, 67, 76, 81, 84 – all refer to specific instruments to be used. An instrument of Gath, Stringed Instruments, Flutes, Eight Stringed Harp. Specificity!
  • Psalms 9, 22, 45, 53, 56-60, 69, 75, 80, 88 – all refer to use other “psalms” that go by recognizable names that the Chief Musician will mimic with new words. New Songs!
  • Psalms 39 – Written to specific individuals, who may even be the specific Chief Musician themselves. Other names are mentioned and they may be psalms related to specific individuals. Personalized!
  • Psalms 32, 42, 44, 45, 52, 53, 54, 55, 74, 78, 88, 89, 142 – These are all “contemplation’s” from David and others that make you consider your thinking process and put it to a psalm that can be referenced by others. Could I suggest it’s maybe like a “diary” or “journal” where you consider the inward thoughts carefully? Deep!

The book of Psalms is 150 chapters from 5 different books, authored by many different singers and writers. Yet it is the single most collection of songs from nearly 1,000 years of time – and we read, sing, quote, and study them thousands of years later.

Imagine your own song and message. What you go through may last thousands of years to future generations as your words and messages are contemplated by someone you may never meet.

The problem with this thought is that if you never communicate your personal message, who will ever be able to know your message of deliverance, relief, safety, security, and blessings.

To some, this process is easy. I know several poets, writers, and composers. Even a man in our church!

Kenyon Chosen Ladson posted a new song: “Only God Knows” (click song title)

So, get your “song” on… Pick up one that speaks volumes of who you are, or write some new words. Even if they are to existing melodies.  Rehearse them in your mind. Practice them before others. Get them out.

Be like David… Be like the other singers from the Psalms.

A Contemplation of Ethan the Ezrahite. I will sing of the mercies of the LORD forever; With my mouth will I make known Your faithfulness to all generations. (Psalms 89:1 NKJV)

I will sing to the LORD as long as I live; I will sing praise to my God while I have my being. (Psalms 104:33 NKJV)

I will sing to the LORD, Because He has dealt bountifully with me. (Psalms 13:6 NKJV)

Leave a Reply

