Restarts in Life

Something happened to me this week…

Restart ResetI was watching an Apple video regarding the new devices that were recently introduced on my iPhone 6+. Half way through the video my screen went dark, blank, zip, nadda, nothing… My phone still indicated when messages were coming through – but I could see nothing on my screen…

I lived most of the day Friday without a working cell phone! Sort of nice…

Ran by the Verizon store and the front door guard (sign in clerk) showed me simply how to do a “Soft Restart”… Presto! Phone restored and working correctly. By the way, the same thing happened with my wife on her iPad with the same Apple video… Hmmm…. Apple problems?

Having been around computers for 45+ years I understand Soft and Hard Restarts (some call them Resets). Sometimes the computer gets overwhelmed and forces a restart… Sometimes a issue with the power supply or internal component forces a restart.

Have you ever been in a noisy computer room – tape/disk drives, printers, mainframe – and then all of a sudden it goes completely silent as the power fails to keep everything running? Been there… Done that… Scary.

In fact, our mainframe had an emergency power off switch that could totally disconnect the power flow when a major event occurred and you would need IBM to come out and reset the mainframe.

Well, a soft restart normally relates to forcing the computer to reboot without a power loss. A hard restart is simply disconnecting the power and allowing the computer to boot up fresh as if it were a new device.

Made me think about life, in general – relationships, marriage, jobs, careers, financial situations, etc… I think we have more restarts in life than we realize. I know I see more restarts in others than I see in myself.

Come on. Admit it. There are times we simply perform a “soft” restart as life hiccups a little bit. Our mental and physical operating abilities are not affected, everything is still in play, and we continue on our way, albeit with maybe a different strategy in mind. There are times life requires a “hard” restart. A complete disconnection and reload of everything necessary to reboot to a logon screen. Perhaps it’s a major event due to a tragedy, or termination of some sort.

There have been a number of times my career required soft restarts. Change of direction, venue and duties. Since moving to Washington I felt like it was a hard restart. I could not get a job, too old, made too much money, etc. so I re-invented myself… Almost from the ground up. I focused on education, quit worrying about the “career” and did what was necessary to continue on.

There have been many restarts in certain areas of life – Family, Education, Finances, Careers, …. Well, I hope you have the picture.

But hard restarts? Perhaps not as drastically needed as a full power down would indicate.

My spiritual mind goes to nations and individuals found in scripture. It seemed from generation to generation, individuals and nations were going through starts and restarts. Up and flying high, then down at the bottom. Pick on Israel. Sampson. David. Solomon. It seems like just about everyone had a restart or another.

For 40 years Joshua stood in the shadow of Moses. He spied out the future promised land and brought back a good report, only to follow his leader through years of wandering in the wilderness until a generation of people had passed from the scene. We never see him frustrated. Angry. Shallow. Disappointed.

For a generation of time he did what was required of him, all the while preparing for the future.

When time came for him to assume the leadership role, there was no restart of life, or direction. He simply stepped into the role that he was prepared for. I love his statement to Israel as they restarted their steps into the promised land.

“Now therefore, fear the LORD, serve Him in sincerity and in truth, and put away the gods which your fathers served on the other side of the River and in Egypt. Serve the LORD! And if it seems evil to you to serve the LORD, choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods which your fathers served that were on the other side of the River, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you dwell. But as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD.”  (Joshua 24:14-15 NKJV)

This was something they were all living for. Making the right next step in life to continue the journey that the prior generation was incapable of completing. Think about it. This generational restart was 40 years in the making! Sometimes we are not content to wait till the end of the day!

How many times have you moved into your next stage of life without feeling like you need to reboot? Restart? Reset? There is something to be said for having the training and followership in your hands that you are prepared for the next stage of life.

Are you ready?

Leave a Reply

