Sometimes…

As we approach Thanksgiving week…

The Road Ahead
Taylor Photography

I had a musing thought this morning. In a moment of searching, I began to simply think through life. Where I’m at. Where I thought I would be. Are the two equal to each other? Or did I simply not have vision enough to consider the future? Did I simply not dream big enough?

On one hand there is so much to be accomplished where I am at, and I’m not satisfied that I have reached the ending of my future. On the other hand, it is time to think about the next generation coming along to pick up from where I’m at and take it on further down the road than I could possibly imagine it to be.

I would love to experience the far corners of the globe. Money. Time. Mobility. All keep me anchored to where my responsibilities lie. Did I ever think of visiting Europe, or the Middle East, when I was younger. Furthest thing from my mind. But, I’ve been there. What awaits? Africa. South America. Asia. Australia. Antarctica.

I would love to finish up some education goals that I acquired late in life. Money and Time are the biggest enemies here. Did I ever think of finishing college when I was younger? Furthest thing from my mind. But, I’ve finished a Masters program and wish for more.

I would love to be heavily involved in certain things of my religious leanings. Money and Mobility, throwing in a little Time (I’m now 60), keep me from considering future connections. But I can support those who are doing what I’m thinking about right now!

I would love to have large acreage in the middle of No-Where, with mountains, streams, pastures, forests, glaciers – but all three keep me differently focused. The introvert in me would like to never see another house (!!), but the extrovert in me wants a place that people would enjoy coming to.

Somewhere along the way of life, reality needs to set in and some of the things I’ve dreamed of when young stand face to face with the facts of present life – and sometimes I simply need to set aside those things and fully immerse into this present place… And Live It to the fullest.

From my favorite book of the Apostle Paul, I take one of my favored and oft quoted scriptures. Though possibly out of context and meaning of his words, I apply it to life for all those things that will probably never happen.

Not that I speak in regard to need, for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content: I know how to be abased, and I know how to abound. Everywhere and in all things I have learned both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. (Philippians 4:11-12 NKJV)

Now, on to the things I KNOW I can accomplish. Writing more, being a faithful pastor, husband, father, and grandpa to my one and only (and to all those who relate to me in that role at church). There’s a book or two in me. There’s a tractor to get paid off. A barn to build. A house to remodel (sure need a large living room and fireplace). There are new people to meet, and many pleasant folks in my life to continue to serve and get to know better…. Education? Maybe… Time and Money will tell….

Leave a Reply

