Thinking About Recovering From Pneumonia

The day I take my last Z-Pack Antibody…

PneumoniaIt is said there are over 200 cold viruses, and as you age you eventually get exposed to most of them, hence a cold is less seldom experienced … again, as you age. I’m not sure this is true. Now, or ever. But I’m blessed with fewer cold attacks than it seems others have. For this I am truly thankful.

No allergies and there’s nothing I’m allergic to that causes the body to react – except good dark chocolate, and that brings about a tremendous sneeze that just might “blow the house down”. My body may have a good tolerance to many things, but my smeller is more sensitive than ever. Cigarettes, perfumes, candles, the detergent aisle at most grocery stores…even some deodorant will clog up my sinuses. I learn when best to flee!

But this past Monday, as I started feeling under the weather, little did I know I was in a for one of the crummiest weeks ever! Pneumonia threw me under the bus and slammed on the brakes on my chest!

My energy was gone. My chest hurt. My ribs ached with each breath. Every time I coughed it felt like someone was jabbing me in the rib cage. A call to the doctor Tuesday set up a Wednesday appointment and the verdict. The air sacs in my lungs were infected and filled with fluid – typically causing the above mentioned symptoms. It takes 1-3 weeks to recover, but the doctor gave me a Z-Pack antibody that fights it off quickly. It did the job! Within 2 days the ache in my ribs was gone and I could get out of bed without feeling like someone was punching me in the back.

But my strength was gone. Fever still persists, even today. I totter around like someone who needs a walker. It’s better to stay immobile, and I’m glad my wife picked up my part of home life. Then she got sick… Fever. Sniffles. Sinus. Probably a typically bad cold but she slept for the past 2 days and we both recovered somewhat together.

This mad me think about our bodies. Whether you think we crawled out of the primordial ooze to dry land, or that God formed us into a shape and breathed life into us, you must admit that our bodies are amazing machines.

This bout with pneumonia makes me wish to know more how our body operates. Where is blood generated? How do cells multiply? How do white blood cells know what is an invasion? How is air absorbed into our blood stream from every breath we inhale? How does an antibody know what to attack? What’s the difference between a bacteria and a virus and why can either of them be the cause to something yet must be fought differently?

My list is probably endless and I know there’s not enough time in life to devote to the study. But think about it for a moment. There are many examples around us of people succumbing to the diseases that ravage this earth. Some people are fortunate to be immune, or inoculated, from the experience.

There was a novelization of a film that Isaac Asimov was asked to write. That brilliant Science Fiction writer and scientist lent his ability to take a screenplay and write a novel from it. It was called Fantastic Voyage. I remember reading it in the late 60’s. It was a fascinating story of shrinking a “submarine” and crew, then inserting them into a scientist body so they could go to the source of a problem (Blood Clot?) and eradicate the damage thus saving a life.

Imagine if you could be small enough to slip in the blood stream and propel along the superhighway of a persons body. You would get a first hand, up close and personal view, of exactly what things looked like from the microscopic.

Maybe. And I’m just speculating, now. Maybe, we would want to take better care of this short term vessel we call home. Even David of old probably had some of these same thoughts, and he had no clue to what science would eventually unveil for us so casually.

Oh yes, you shaped me first inside, then out; you formed me in my mother’s womb. I thank you, High God–you’re breathtaking! Body and soul, I am marvelously made! I worship in adoration–what a creation! You know me inside and out, you know every bone in my body; You know exactly how I was made, bit by bit, how I was sculpted from nothing into something. Like an open book, you watched me grow from conception to birth; all the stages of my life were spread out before you, The days of my life all prepared before I’d even lived one day.  (Psalms 139:13-16 MSG)

So. When sickness comes. Take a moment and be thankful for all those hours, weeks, months and years that your body functioned without a misstep. Then, get yourself back into proper shape so you can last even longer!

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

