Central Core

Yesterday, The Center of your Home…

CoreToday. What is the central core of belief that you wrap yourself around?

As Tuesday wrapped up “superly” the candidates were excited to move on, or worried about their next step. It seems that whichever side of the coin you fall on, the “D’s” and “R’s” have huge problems with their identity. The excesses and ranges that the various candidates tout and purport to speak for the masses are really speaking for what they think is the voice of America.

But this country is twisted. Some may label it as too liberal. Too conservative. Not enough between the poles, and too close to one or the other.

But the real problem is that we do not share a common core, a central thread of belief that allows for the variety of existence we see. There does not seem to be a common core of belief that we can all stand behind and support with our unified voice, with the exception that we each have access to our voice and vote accordingly.

I can see this same twisted rope in many worlds that I’m a part of. Consider the financial world we live in – there are some who are easily the richest and the poorest, and the bulk of us exist in the sliding poles from top to bottom… Consider our religious views. What has been centuries of core belief is getting rarefied by the division of beliefs that keeps creating schisms. Take our base of knowledge. It keeps increasing. Exponentially getting further from the gains made by those scientists of several hundred years ago.

I am blessed that this world does not impact me negatively, regardless of the extreme excesses that everything stretches to become. Politics keep me praying. The financial stability keeps me praying. The flakebility of religion keeps me praying. Even our increasing knowledge keeps me focused on prayer.

Regardless of the extremes, the church is my life. My home. My belief system. My wife is my best friend and partner in life. A woven core of stability. Not easily shaken by the events that surround me.

I love the way King David says in in The Message:

For GOD’s Word is solid to the core; everything he makes is sound inside and out.
(Psalms 33:4 MSG)

At the core of my belief system is Jesus Christ.

I will worship toward thy holy temple, and praise thy name for thy lovingkindness and for thy truth: for thou hast magnified thy word above all thy name. (Psalms 138:2 KJV)

His Word is above His Name. Magnified. Solidified at the core of who I am and what I believe. And with that, I can rest easy at night regardless of wins…

Leave a Reply

