How Do You Find Relevance?

This has been an “all week” thought…

Crowd of PeopleHow do you find relevance? What’s important? What voice speaks into your quiet? Who do you let in? Who do you keep out? How you you not live guiltily when you chose to trim off the clambering noise?

This has nothing to do with introvert vs extrovert! This has everything to do with my inner calm speaking and controlling all the excess noise that wants to invade every corner of my life!

In fact, yesterday, an RV towed behind my truck and hitting the open road to escape seemed like the appropriate answer! But where could you go except into a different crowd?!!?

No. The answer is not running away, rather, it’s controlling the incoming signals to the brain and then living with the control you exert. It’s almost like using the magnet backwards. You know. Repelling the crowd via the push that comes from magnets flipped on opposite poles. Nothing attracts itself and everything repels. Until you choose WHAT and WHO to let in…

This is where I am today.

I’ve created a hashtag just for this exercise. #TimeToTrim. I will use it in my social media and news outlets to narrow down the noise and the voices that I allow into my life.

Suicide! Asinine! See. The voices are already clamoring … hoping they are not the ones that will be trimmed. I’m not like others who are attempting to get all the followers they can because they have something to say, or a voice to get out, or a product to market. No. I’m simply hoping to communicate intelligently and spiritually the voice that God has given me. Those that listen to God, or perhaps they are searching for something themselves in this noise driven world, well, they will be the ones to listen and hopefully find their own relevance in the words I give.

Though this is not a perfect example, but I am reminded of King Jehoshaphat. A great multitude was coming to do battle against his kingdom. Fear caused him to fast and pray. God gave them great victory. And this one thought speaks to me in volumes.

Then the realm of Jehoshaphat was quiet, for his God gave him rest all around. (2 Chronicles 20:30 NKJV)

Was his life perfect afterwards? No. There were still daily needs that needed to be met, and a quality life still need to be lived. But the nation prospered as God gave them peace and rest. On every front. This word “rest” is the same word that is used to describe that opening place of scripture that Adam and Eve enjoyed – The Garden of Eden.

Would you not enjoy “rest” like this? A peaceful place. Quiet in the realm. No threats. No stress.

Thomas Andrew Dorsey - 1899-2002Thomas Dorsey, (1899-2002) was born in Georgia, and penned a handful of songs that we’ve all heard throughout our lives of living for God. His focus was on the individual relationship to God, and not the collective of the church living together for God. Have you heard this one? This is my song this morning.

Peace In The Valley
Well, I’m tired and so weary
But I must go along
Till the Lord comes and calls me away
Where the morning’s so bright
And the Lamb is the light
And the night, night is as fair as the day.

 

Well, the flowers will be blooming
And the grass will be green
And the skies will be clear and serene
Where the sun ever beams
In this valley of dreams
And no cloud will be seen.

Well, the bear will be gentle
And the wolf will be tame
And the lion shall lay down
By the lamb, oh
And the beasts from the wild
Shall be led by a child
And I’ll be changed,
Changed from this creature that I am.

There will be peace in the valley
For me some day
There will be peace in the valley
For me, Oh Lord I pray
There’ll be no sadness
No sorrow, no trouble I see
There will be peace
In the valley for me

 

Leave a Reply

