I Do Not Remember

I do not remember the details…

Memory LossNor can I specifically remember the time period except as a vague knowledge that I would have been there.

Right? Kindergarten through about the 3rd grade. I was there. I made grades. I graduated. But for the life of me I do not remember any of the teachers, or fellow students. I can tell you the schools by their location, but I cannot tell you any details.

Those bulletin boards so lovingly decorated…? Nope. No memory. That kid I’m sure I wanted to sit by? Nope. Gone. (If I ever knew…) Clothes we wore? Vaguely recall some favorite shirts and shoes, but jeans were jeans. I don’t even remember anything special about the belts! That time I had “ring worms” and my head was basically shaved and I kept a ball cap on? Yep. Remember that very well. School with astronaut kids? Sure. Carpenter, Aldrin, Grissom, Conrad… I remember these. But not all the astronauts had kids my age, nor lived close to us. A lot of the kids I was in school with included families that supported the NASA program nearby. Eugene Lewis was one of my favorite friends to hang around with, including being in Cub Scouts together.

I was chatting with mom the other day. I have no real memories of Sunday School classes until about the 5th or 6th grade. That’s when most of my memories are more clearly defined.

Could I say, most of those earlier years are fogged memories – especially when it comes to school memories. Cloudy, they are. (In a sincere Yoda voice.)

In fact, I’m sure we all suffer from sections of life that have no real impressionable memory to recall. It’s like we live through these times, but nothing strikes us with a hard clue of recollection.

Then I think about my family elders. Many of them lived well into their 80’s and 90’s. I wonder about all the things they have more than likely forgotten, and suddenly I do not feel badly about my own loss.

Other than this one thing. I don’t want to forget those special times. You know, the first time you met your kids face to face. That first kiss with your special person. The moment you said, “I do.” First solo car driving experience (and first solo flight for me). The first day on a very special job. That enjoyable day of birth celebration when you move up the calendar ranks (that’s over 61 for me now). Your parents telling you how much they love you and all those extra things they did for you growing up (endless baseball games and scout meetings). That first day in Kindergarten when you got to walk the block and half to the school BY YOURSELF? Yep. Remember it!

Or that special police three-wheeled cycle you got from the Salvage on Navigation Blvd in Houston? My cousin (Lyn) lived in Songwood at the time. I might have been four… 

I especially remember the piano and guitar lessons. I was never good enough! But it was an important lesson… Or that first special suit jacket. Sort of a goldish color! All of us boys eventually got to wear it, I think.

When I was about 7 years old I remember Bozo the clown putting on his clown garb in me and my brothers bedroom in Seabrook at Champion Park… Peaking through the keyhole to watch the magic transformation!

Remember that first time you got up on water skies? Or hit that ball over the fence? Or won your first scouting badge? Or recited the books of the Bible, alphabet, poem in front of a classroom, or read your first book report out loud? That school play (Wizard of Oz) in the 4th grade? You played three different roles AND sang in the choir. Busy. Busy.

Do you remember choir time in the 5th and 6th grades? Maybe not the instructor, but a song or two? “Christmas is coming, the goose is getting fat. Please to put a penny in the old man’s hat.” or “Over the hills and through the woods to grandmothers house we go. The horse knows the way to carry the sleigh….(gets a little fuzzy here).

There are so many memories that I’m sure it’s only logical that some not frequently recalled have a trouble coming up a bubble to pop into our consciousness. Some I wish I could recall better. Reading time with the kids, or even play time with them at the park. I was working so hard and long through those earlier years, we were blessed my wife was able to take off of work for about 10 years and be a stay-at-home mom. She has much better memories of these times…

There are things of God I never want to forget. Perhaps its only a process of taking time to recall those important times. Relish those memories. Recite them to the next generation. Carry those things into the future for others to enjoy.

I will remember the works of the LORD; Surely I will remember Your wonders of old.
(Psalms 77:11 NKJV)

That word “surely” sort of confesses that maybe I will not remember all those important things.

Surely I will. Right?

Leave a Reply

