Start Your Day Right

Before you cram your day with busyness…

To Do ListsPlan your day in order to Start it Right!

When I first started working in IT (Information Technology), life was simple. I worked an evening job for a bank whose name changed about 6 times in 18 months. My big responsibility was balancing banks that we processed their daily checks and deposits. From a start of about 10 banks it ended up being over 50 by the time I left there. Running computers, check sorters, calculators became a passion – it was fun!

And they paid me to have fun!

During down times (Computer, power, weather, traffic… you name it…) we played war games with rubber bands, went on walks through downtown Houston (at night), found new eateries to try out, slept, or even did school work. Most of it came at a time when there were better things to do with our time than just sit.

I generally hate sitting, unless I’m driving somewhere! My mind never stops working. In fact, I woke at 4:45 am thinking about all the stuff I have to get accomplished to day. Hence, the reason for my blog.

Schedules.

I like to think I am pretty organized, but truth be told I feel like I am always coming at something totally unprepared for success. My “to do” list gets lengthier by the day. My time is often not my own – it belongs to the task list.

This is mostly my own fault. I take on too much when I should just learn to say no, and at times I am needing distraction so a new task makes sense.

Still, working through a task list is one of the most productive ways I can get things accomplished.

You will find there are things that will impact the most perfectly scheduled day. An example is my truck. It’s now 13 years old and has 289,000 miles and still going strong. The diesel engine will outlast the frame and components of the truck. I’ve only had a few things happen that stopped the truck from working the way it was intended, and those things normally take time out of an already busy schedule. Like the time I came home from Oregon and my Alternator started going out. Of course, with two batteries that probably meant I would loose my lights before getting home. Several hours of testing and getting to and from the mechanic ate up more time that I needed!

How do you handle schedule changes? If it does not impact what’s really important with the day you have to learn to go with the flow. If it DOES impact then you have to look for productive alternatives. That normally means carrying my work with me wherever I go!

Distractions.

If you have a creative and roaming mind like mine, then it’s easy to get distracted. A few weeks ago I was involved in an event and my mind was totally focused for about 4 days on the needs of the event. I was very tired and starting to feel unproductive. I needed a break. What I needed was lawn mower time! I generally mow about 3 acres regularly. These several hours of “downtime” are a great distraction for my mind. I listen to my Nano, and let my subconscious handle all the problems that I’m dealing with. Between my tiredness and obligations that included church on Sunday, the rain was keeping from the appointed task. Sunday afternoon, the rain had stopped, the grass had dried and I had a couple of hours of “me” time. It was a good thing because it rained heavily on Monday!

Finally.

I suspect I am writing all of this before the sun comes up for this one reason. You need to schedule your time, but factor in down time with distractions that give you relief from your overly schedule life. Put God, spouse and family at the top of your schedule. Work will take care of itself during the 8 hours you devote to the job, but the other three are, or they should be, the top focus in your life.

Listen to the words of Jesus for a moment…

“Therefore do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For after all these things the Gentiles seek. For your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble. (Matthew 6:31-34 NKJV)

“Give your entire attention to what God is doing right now, and don’t get worked up about what may or may not happen tomorrow. God will help you deal with whatever hard things come up when the time comes. (Matthew 6:34 MSG)

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

