The Morning Thought

For several months I have been posting about a Morning Thought…

2016-03-28 07.42.42It is often an answer to prayer to share a word, or scripture, or even a disjointed thought to begin my morning devotion with. And, I try to have that devotion as early in the morning as possible. You know, before the day gets a hold of my schedule!

Why am I interested in writing so much? Partly, because I grew tired of all those devotions out there with someone else’s thought process. God gave me a brain and a hunger, and I believe he points things out to us all the time. We grow lazy in His presence if we do not investigate the thought.

Think about Moses seeing the burning bush afar…

Now Moses was tending the flock of Jethro his father-in-law, the priest of Midian. And he led the flock to the back of the desert, and came to Horeb, the mountain of God. And the Angel of the LORD appeared to him in a flame of fire from the midst of a bush. So he looked, and behold, the bush was burning with fire, but the bush was not consumed. Then Moses said, “I will now turn aside and see this great sight, why the bush does not burn.” So when the LORD saw that he turned aside to look, God called to him from the midst of the bush and said, “Moses, Moses!” And he said, “Here I am.”  (Exodus 3:1-4 NKJV)

It was not the miracle of the burning bush. No. “So when the LORD saw that he turned aside to look…” is the miracle! This is the premise of why I write, and lately at a more prolific pace! God does things around me and I am always turning to look! That’s when God completes the thought and shares things with this busy mind. And I could look and write all day long!

This morning, while sitting in my chair and finishing my cup of coffee, I looked out the window as the sun was beginning to break over the mountain (Mt Rainier) and through the clouds that portend snow in the higher elevation. No clouds close, only in a distance. In a seemingly instant that bright sun caused the moisture laden air and plants to create a fog at ground level.

Now, I am sorry some of you do not live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest. We love our mountains. Snow. Continually green fauna. The ocean impact. And yes, we have our share of bad weather, but we generally know it’s coming long before it hits. Those Pacific, Alaska Gulf and Canadian fronts broadcast themselves days in advance!

2016-03-28 07.56.03But this morning of 32 degrees, ice dotting the landscape, and the beautiful dawn with its accompanying fog spoke to me. Sometimes we do not know that the fog of life comes from the area we abide in. Our circumstances cloud up our view. But let the Son break through the horizon, and that fog begins to burn away. Just as I see out my office window as I write. In a simple 15 minute span the fog of my neighbors pasture fades away to crisp and clear morning beauty.

The day is clear and the time is before me for productivity! The magnificent mountains and low running hills show themselves… And now, the day is mine!

One thought on “The Morning Thought

  1. I miss the mountians. Mine were in the Northeast however. I miss going to Mt. Washington on a clear day seeing mountain tops as far away as Canada. It always gave me a sense of the how awesome and beautiful God’s creation is and how much we take it for granted. I like the idea that God takes notice when we notice. It is in those moments when He catches our attention that He can speak to us. Thank you for today’s thought.

    Like

Leave a Reply

