The Law of Attraction

The Law of Attraction

Law of AttractionYou are what you (    fill in the blank    ).

Potential Answers: Eat, Desire, Like, Consume. Hang out with. Enjoy. Entertain.

This is something we experience all the time. Is it a good thing? Sometimes. But if you are always attracting the less than perfect example of life and living, then you are probably attracted to some things you should consider changing!

When I was young, I smelled the results of beer left in the hot sun and in trash cans close to where we live. I am not attracted to the concept of beer, hence, beer does not attract me. I can be close to it, and I’ve even bought it for a recipe, but I am not attracted to it enough to experiment with it!

My resolution: I’ve seen the results that excessive use of beer does to a persons ability to be coherent or to drive a 3,000 pound car.

If it has the power to control me, then I want control over it.

The same concept should apply to all those potentially negative things in life that attract us away from profitable living. It’s not a money thing. It’s a control thing. There are enough things in my life that I struggle with control over that I do not need something like this that has control over me.

Think about it for a moment from a great leader of our recent past.

“You create your own universe as you go along.” ~Winston Churchill

In fact, this is the same concept in spiritual ways. The things you are attracted to create your immediate world around you by which you live and exist within.

“For as he thinks in his heart, so is he. …” (Proverbs 23:7 NKJV)

Many think that all they have to do is imagine it, and “poof” it is so. Almost like that magician with a wand that causes something to come into existence that was not there previously. It’s Magic!

No. It’s more than an allusion. You must be in control! How do you create a better world to live in? You have to learn the techniques to exit from negative worlds. There are many scriptures that teach this concept but you have to make it happen…

“Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. Draw near to God, and he will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands, you sinners, and purify your hearts, you double-minded.” (James 4:7-8 ESV)

I wrote a blog some years back called Push…Pull (Click Here)…And I read it again this morning. In order to resist we need to push away from. Resistance builds strength! Like most good exercise programs, it’s not just about cardio, but also about strength building. And this requires pushing away or pulling to…

Almost like the opposite sides of magnets that repel each other. But, to fill the void, we must submit to something better – else the void will simply fill up with perhaps a more damaging evil.

“When an unclean spirit goes out of a man, he goes through dry places, seeking rest; and finding none, he says, ‘I will return to my house from which I came.’ And when he comes, he finds it swept and put in order. Then he goes and takes with him seven other spirits more wicked than himself, and they enter and dwell there; and the last state of that man is worse than the first.” (Luke 11:24-26 NKJV)

This morning I am thinking about all the negative habits and quirks in my life. I have to take charge over them and not let them be in charge of me. Some things I struggle with (Dr Pepper, Chocolate, Just One More Bite, Next book…) and they are my own internal battles. Others tempt me to look at them as something worth spending time and money on (mostly technological money pits, and how to make more money!).

Here’s a way to win over your nemesis…

“But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you.” (Matthew 6:33 NKJV)

Put God first. Let the law of attraction draw you towards God, and his right living aspect. Everything else will find its place.

Will it be easy? No. But it is a worthy fight!

 

 

Leave a Reply

