Waste Not Want Not

The week has been rapidly coming to a close…

Juggling ClocksThere is so much to get accomplished and the stress of leaving tasks undone is not going to be an option. In fact, there is so much to do and not enough time to get everything done, and there is not a moment to waste.

However, there are options that keep me functioning.

  • Streamlining some steps, combining tasks, reassigning some to a helper…
  • Rethinking which priorities are creating the most stress and focusing on finishing them quickly.
  • Stop picking up so many ancillary tasks that can easily be done by someone else.
  • Learn to say no, so take ownership of the power that a “no” can produce.
  • And when saying yes is important then make sure your schedule will allow proper focus.

When the stress of the schedule gets you overwhelmed, then you need to learn how to release the pressure that threatens to throttle your success!

This week had some onerous tasks, but still tasks that needed to be accomplished. On my plate was a scheduled trip across the state, but the pressure of the “home” tasks were stressing me out!  A drive over the mountain was in order, but was it absolutely necessary?

Maybe. But not for the reason of the trip. I took the opportunity to make the trip productive for another reason. I needed some downtime that only a solo drive could give me. I needed some quiet time where I could control the noise pressures. I needed some “me” time.

Along the trip a phrase kept popping up on my radar. “Waste”… I saw tremendous waste along side the road. Junk cars, trash, you know, all those things that people toss aside when it has no more practical use. But an idiom kept adding to the word. “Waste not want not.” You know, it’s a common idiomatic saying with substance.

If you use a commodity or resource carefully
and without extravagance, you will never be in need.

Use it carefully. Without extravagance. Never in need. Maybe… There are some things that have an unlimited supply – like oxygen! However, there are things we wastefully create with no thought that they will survive past the first use. Candy wrappers. Aluminum cans. Boxes that cover a sack of cereal. Autos that do not last as long as my truck.

I researched the idiom and found it previously stated: “willful waste makes woeful want” (1576). This makes me a happier soul. I hate to willfully waste anything! So, I refused to waste a trip over the mountain for someone else’s requirement. I did it for myself.

I took ownership of that 11 hour round trip drive and did something I particularly enjoy. Quiet time. Chosen path. Enjoy the trip!

On a good day, enjoy yourself; On a bad day, examine your conscience. God arranges for both kinds of days So that we won’t take anything for granted. (Ecclesiastes 7:14 MSG)

Leave a Reply

