What Did You Expect?

Every day there is a hope for what the day will bring.

ExpectationTrue statement? Perhaps. Some wake up with no thought of the mystery of the day unfolding and what it could possibly mean. Others wake up thinking about the mystery of the gift that the day is, and they cannot wait to unwrap it in all of its glory!

It’s really a matter of your expectation level!

  • If you are often disappointed, then the day may hold no surprises that you were not truly expecting.
  • But if you face the day and look for the hidden values in every moment, then you live with an expectation attitude that finds many blessings as you travel through.

As a child, did you not grow into the excitement of that special day you could hardly wait to arrive? Christmas? Birthday? Last Day of School? First Day of School?

I can just see you now! So antsy with expectation you wiggle and jiggle like that bowl of jello!

Life often throws us a few curve balls and things happen we were not expecting. Think about it! That let down feeling when the moment did not match up to your expectation… Have enough of these then you struggle with even generating the excitement of your youthful days.

The bible speaks of this kind of situation all the time. Whether its Blind Bartimaeus (Mark 10:46-52) needing to have his sight restored and he is relegated to the roadside begging for financial support, or that woman with the issue of blood (Luke 8:43-44) who sees her only hope pass her by, yet she perseveres through the crowd and reaches out to touch a slim portion of the garment of that healer.

Each of them received something that they had hoped for!
But I dare say neither really understood the results as they experienced them.

Bartimaeus saw, and probably had a hard time understanding all he was seeing! The woman had her problem healed and I sense a spirit of Joy, along with a great sigh of relief.

However, how many times had they asked for healing and been mocked for their questioning attitude? How many times did the doctors suggest they keep looking for a cure? How many times did some charlatan promised them something as long as they simply gave an offering?

I agree, there are some days the storm clouds keep us cowering from the repetition of another bad day, but I want to get up and face the day with the Hope of Jesus! Every day I want to expect what I have prepared myself to enjoy. I am seldom disappointed!

I’m Feeling Fine
(by Mosie Lister)

I woke up this morning feeling fine
I woke up with Heaven on my mind
I woke up with joy in my soul
‘Cause I knew my Lord had control

I knew I was walkin’ in the light
‘Cause I’d been on my knees in the night
And I’d pray till the Lord gave a sign
And now, I’m feeling mighty fine

Well, I’m feeling mighty fine
I’ve got Heaven on my mind
Don’t you know I want to go
Where the milk and honey flow?

There’s a light that always shines
Down inside this heart of mine
I’ve got Heaven on my mind
And I’m feeling mighty fine

We’re walking with Jesus all the time
We’re walking and talking as we climb
We’re traveling a road to the sky
Where I know, I’ll live when I die

He’s been telling me all about that land
And He tells me that everything is grand
And He says that a home will be mine
And now, I’m feeling mighty fine

Oh, I’m feeling mighty fine
I’ve got Heaven on my mind
Don’t you know I want to go
Where the milk and honey flow?

There’s a light that always shines
Down inside this heart of mine
I’ve got Heaven on my mind
And I’m feeling mighty fine

Oh, I’m feeling mighty fine
I’ve got Heaven on my mind
Don’t you know I want to go
Where the milk and honey flow?

There’s a light that always shines
Down inside this heart of mine
I’ve got Heaven on my mind
And I’m feeling, feeling mighty fine

 

Leave a Reply

