I Have Hope

Why Do We Struggle?

Faith Hope LoveWe face challenges every moment of every day, and day by day sometimes the challenges are met by our expectation of a good solution. Sometimes they do not. If we struggle more with answers not coming than with them showing up, do we become hopeless?

Hope cannot be “feelings”, or even that emotion we stress over when things around us appear to be hopeless. Hope must be grounded in fact of something that is possible to be accomplished. Hope is acknowledging fact, believing that what is possible might be the very thing we need and the evidence of it when it shows up!

Hope is that middle link between Faith and Love (1 Corinthians 13:13) and I trust in my Faith linked through Hope to Love.

But here’s the thought for the day. I must remind myself every day that there is hope. Every single day. Do not let one day go by, or you may just thrash about until that hopelessness controls you.

And I said, “My strength and my hope Have perished from the LORD.” Remember my affliction and roaming, The wormwood and the gall. My soul still remembers And sinks within me. This I recall to my mind, Therefore I have hope. Through the LORD’s mercies we are not consumed, Because His compassions fail not. They are new every morning; Great is Your faithfulness. (Lamentations 3:18-23 NKJV)

Jeremiah, often known as the weeping prophet, penned these words about all the problem he has seen, and since he has been around the affliction of Israel perhaps he had a right to the weeping. Even King David often cried for help from where he was stranded. It seemed he was always stressed with his situation.

To the Chief Musician. With Stringed Instruments. A Contemplation of David. Give ear to my prayer, O God, And do not hide Yourself from my supplication. Attend to me, and hear me; I am restless in my complaint, and moan noisily, Because of the voice of the enemy, Because of the oppression of the wicked; For they bring down trouble upon me, And in wrath they hate me. My heart is severely pained within me, And the terrors of death have fallen upon me. Fearfulness and trembling have come upon me, And horror has overwhelmed me. So I said, “Oh, that I had wings like a dove! I would fly away and be at rest. Indeed, I would wander far off, And remain in the wilderness. Selah I would hasten my escape From the windy storm and tempest.” (Psalms 55:1-8 NKJV)

Attend to me. Hear me. I am restless. The voice of the enemy, the oppression of the wicked – they bring trouble. Horror has overwhelmed me!

To the Chief Musician. On A Stringed Instrument. A Psalm of David. Hear my cry, O God; Attend to my prayer. From the end of the earth I will cry to You, When my heart is overwhelmed; Lead me to the rock that is higher than I. For You have been a shelter for me, A strong tower from the enemy. I will abide in Your tabernacle forever; I will trust in the shelter of Your wings. Selah (Psalms 61:1-4 NKJV)

Why do we struggle? It is through everyday living that I strengthen myself to stand up to those tough times when I need the most help. There are many days I feel overwhelmed, but it is at that same time that I feel the support of God that gets me through the moment of struggle.

Here’s the thought… When you feel the hopeless tendrils reaching out for you, recall the blessings of God and exercise your hope for a solution that is possible! Do not desire the things that are unattainable, or unreal. Rather, keep your focus grounded on the possible, even the miracle. Just keep living in Hope!

Leave a Reply

