Do More With Less

Clutter is the enemy to productiveness…

Too Much StuffRight? Think about it…

The more I have the more it consumes me. The consumption process occupies more time than I have freely available. So, I should learn to have less…so I can do more…

Got it?

The problem for me is not the amount of stuff (and I’ve enjoyed my stuff!), but the constant thought that the stuff is important. If I get rid of it then surely I will immediately need it. That’s the fear. It will cost me money as soon as I get rid of it! I’m sure of it…

However, my productivity is more important than my stuff, hence I have been working for a year to whittle down my stuff… One hour at a time. Spend the time, trim the stuff, ease the clutter and make sure that all I keep are the things I need.

A friend who owns a business to help you declutter pointed me to an article that said, “If you have not touched it in 6 months then you probably could get rid of it.” That might be a little severe because I own books, collectibles, and rocks that I will never get rid of it.

But if a disaster hits, then I know the few things I will take and the majority of the stuff I have will never go with me. Can you think of the few things that might be important for you?

As Jesus sent his disciples on a missions journey. On your journey…

“Travel light. Comb and toothbrush and no extra luggage….” (Luke 10:4 MSG)

This concept extends itself to how we understand the sin baggage.

  • Therefore we also, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which so easily ensnares us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. (Hebrews 12:1-2 NKJV)
  • Therefore lay aside all filthiness and overflow of wickedness, and receive with meekness the implanted word, which is able to save your souls. (James 1:21 NKJV)

Whether it’s our worldly baggage, or a trip we are commissioned to take, the instruction is to carry lightly only the things you will need. Nothing else matters. After all, what do you think you’re going to be able to take into the afterlife?

One last thought, and it’s a technological thought. It’s easier to snap pictures of memories, and file them away for future memories. It really costs you nothing, but if you do it right then maybe it’s as good as having the object. I’ve slowly migrated to digital libraries and seldom by a print book any longer. That means I have books that are in boxes in the garage that it’s time to weed through. That’s a project for next week.

That’s about all I’m willing to sacrifice. For now… Just saying, “I ain’t totally there yet!”

Leave a Reply

