What Is Your Reason

I was talking to a friend today…

There Is A ReasonOn one hand we were commiserating over similar occurrences of life. On the other hand his situation was more recent and a little fearful for his direction of life. We chatted about the roughing we take of our knees and knuckles, and from such situations we either get bitter, or better.

What is the reason you go through the things your face? Could it be it is simply being repeated until we learn a valuable lesson? Or perhaps we go through things for the sake of a lesson to be learned for the future? Or for someone else to see how we handle our challenge?

Regardless. There is a reason we face things we are going through.

The Apostle Peter, who was a direct witness of the ministry, affliction, death, burial, resurrection and Ascension of Jesus, shared a thought that makes me understand some of these ultimate reasons.

But even if you should suffer for righteousness’ sake, you are blessed. “AND DO NOT BE AFRAID OF THEIR THREATS, NOR BE TROUBLED.” But sanctify the Lord God in your hearts, and always be ready to give a defense to everyone who asks you a reason for the hope that is in you, with meekness and fear; having a good conscience, that when they defame you as evildoers, those who revile your good conduct in Christ may be ashamed.  (1 Peter 3:14-16 NKJV)

Paul, who was not a direct follower of Jesus during the same time as Peter, says this:

Therefore we do not lose heart. Even though our outward man is perishing, yet the inward man is being renewed day by day. For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, is working for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory, while we do not look at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen. For the things which are seen are temporary, but the things which are not seen are eternal. (2 Corinthians 4:16-18 NKJV)

Regardless of what you go through, you have a witness to show the working of the Holy Spirit within you. And you need to renew yourself every day to face these light affliction.

Lyrics from a favorite song of mine:

There Is A Reason
(Ron Block)
I’ve seen hard times and I’ve been told
There isn’t any wonder that I fall
Why do we suffer, crossing off the years
There must be a reason for it all
I’ve trusted in You, Jesus, to save me from my sin
Heaven is the place I call my home
But I keep on getting caught up in this world I’m living in
And Your voice it sometimes fades before I know
Hurtin’ brings my heart to You, crying with my need
Depending on Your love to carry me
The love that shed His blood for all the world to see
This must be the reason for it all
Hurtin’ brings my heart to You, a fortress in the storm
When what I wrap my heart around is gone
I give my heart so easily to the ruler of this world
When the one who loves me most will give me all
In all the things that cause me pain You give me eyes to see
I do believe but help my unbelief
I’ve seen hard times and I’ve been told
There is a reason for it all
2 thoughts on “What Is Your Reason

  1. I went to You Tube and listened to Allison Kraus sing this song so pretty. We also use to sing a song with words – there is a reason. Jesus passed by. Not sure of title.

    Another subject. How much in depth have you studied Intercessary prayer?

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

